We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Kalamazoo, MI
12
Reviewed October 19, 2004

We are so happy that we chose Yelton Manor for our brief 3-day honeymoon in September. We are from Kalamazoo and didn't want to spend the short time we had off in travel time, so South Haven was just right, with Lake Michigan almost at our doorstep and the shops and restaurants in town just a short distance. The Manor is so wonderful -- just being there with all the books and the beautiful furnishings is such a treat. The breakfast and hors d'oeuvres offerings were glorious (the chocolate chip cookies are amazing) and Rob and Elaine are so warm and giving -- the perfect hosts! We will be back and we recommend the Manor to everyone.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 821 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Kalamazoo, MI
13
Reviewed October 18, 2004

What a great place! The innkeepers were very friendly and accomodating. We felt at home immediately. Lots of nooks and crannies filled with inviting furniture, games and books galore - a rainy day paradise.

The rooms, each with its own bathroom, were very clean and spacious with a sitting area to read or watch TV, VCR, or DVD (with a wide selection of both available at no charge). A radio/CD player was also located in the room.

The breakfast was excellent.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, IN
13
Reviewed October 18, 2004

Details, details, details...My husband kept repeating this throughout our stay at Yelton Manor. Every detail is taken care of: wonderful breakfast, books everywhere, reading nooks, beautiful and comfortable rooms, candy dishes. It was as comfortable as being at home without having to take care of anything.
The personal touch was wonderful. We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. My husband secretly spoke with the innkeepers and had the flowers I carried in our wedding waiting in our room at our arrival. It was very difficult to get the flowers (calalillies) in October, but Elaine and Robert went out of their way to get them for me. What a wonderful surprise!!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Naperville, IL
13
Reviewed October 17, 2004

Yelton Manor provides an atmosphere that is exceptionally conducive for couples to relax and "reconnect" with each other. A great place for a get away that brings back the "honeymoon" feeling into a relationship.

We had a wonderful late fall weekend getaway with great weather. We were able to spend time exploring town on the surry and relax on the beach. If the weather hadn't been so nice we would have head no trouble finding a book in the manor and curling up in one of the many comfortable nooks to read and relax. We were able to not worry about the kids for a couple of days. Our stay was wonderful and relaxing and reccomend a stay at Yelton Manor to anyone needing a relaxing getaway.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
13
Reviewed October 11, 2004

My wife and I found the town of South Haven to be enchanting; just what we were looking for as a break from the "big smoke" of Chicago. It's unassuming, peaceful and has lovely lakefront beaches, the lighthouse adds to the ambiance.

Yelton Manor complements the town with it's friendliness and attention to detail. The rooms are very comfortable and have all the amenities to make you feel welcome: DVD player (choose from the free collection!), jacuzzi tub, lovely views. If the weather is good, it's even more of a delight, and the host and staff are terrific. A good weekend break from Chicago.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2004

We have stayed at the Yelton Manor several times and we are never disappointed. The moment you walk into the Yelton you feel this wonderful calming feeling come over you as you are greeted by Elaine. She treats you like your family. Her witt and charming "gift of gab" makes you want to sit down with a glass of wine and talk about your last visit and your family.

On this particular visit Rob had just returned from the "Pumpkin Patch" with an array of pumpkins to decorate the Manor for Fall. It made us run right out to the Patch for our own selection of pumpkins in the hopes that we could decorate in the same manor that they did.

The rooms and decor never change, in a good way, meaning nothing ever looks worn or old. Their impeccible style doesn't go unnoticed.
The snacks and breakfast were delightful, as usual and Elaine loves to share her recipes, just like Martha Stewart would do.

Thank you Elaine and Rob for a delightful visit. Your impecible style and warmth does not go unnoticed. We only wish we could welcome our guests into our home with the same style as Elaine and Rob.

Nancy and John

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Macomb Twp, Michigan
12
Reviewed October 8, 2004

We stayed at the beautiful Yelton Manor located across the street from lake Michigan. We had a fabulous time. The accommodations are exceptional. If you are a bookworm, the house has an incredible library with several little nooks to curl up and read. The gardens are absolutely beautiful.
Our hosts, Elaine & Rob, serve a wonderful breakfast in the morning and delightful hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. I highly recommend this wonderful get-a-way.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
135 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
15.5 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 140 N Shore Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-1135
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two gorgeous Victorian mansions, named "Top of the Crop in Luxury B&Bs" by The Chicago Tribune and consistently ranked #1 lodging in Michigan by TripAdvisor! Expansive gardens, lovely decor, porches and parlors, fireplaces and jacuzzis, lake view balconies, great food, 1000's of books and video, dedicated innkeepers. All rooms have private bath, CTV/VCR/DVD, CVD stereos. Closest B&B in South Haven to sandy beaches of Lake Michigan and walkable to everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelton Manor Hotel South Haven
Yelton Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing