We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting stay at Yelton Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Enchanting stay at Yelton Manor”
Reviewed August 22, 2004

My fiance and I had an absolutely wonderful weekend at Yelton Manor. Everything was perfect from homemade breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the evening and the thousands of books spread throughout the manor. I cannot wait to go back!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    14
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
429
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2004

We recently spent a very pleasant weekend at the Yelton Manor. It had been several years since we had been there and we were courious to see how it was doing. We needn't have been concerned. It just keeps getting better! The staff is still friendy, the beautiful rooms are still immaculate, the food is still good and the greetings of the innkeepers as warm as ever. The grounds are overflowing with beautiful flowers, a change since our last visit. The coffee's always on, the brownies are still on the sideboard, what could be better? The Yelton Manor is the only place we stay in South Haven!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2004

From the amazing assortment of plants and wildflowers on the grounds to the immaculately maintained building to the warmth and hospitality of the innkeepers, my wife and I have never been disappointed with our visits to Yelton Manor. We do find the abundance of treats and snacks in nearly every common area of the Manor to be the only difficult challenge on a visit to Yelton--how does one resist those wonderful little morsels? We expect and receive a smooth stay whenever we're here.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETA955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2004

My wife and I have had the privilege of staying at The Yelton Manor for the past 10 years. (Of course occasionally we had to check out and return to the real world!) The Yelton Manor is simply the best bed and breakfast you will ever stay at PERIOD. The facilities, the amenities, but especially the graciousness and hospitality provided by the innkeepers, Rob and Elaine, is simply phenomenal. We have recommended this place to family and friends for years, and are glad to finally provide our wholehearted endorsement via web. We have stayed in B&B's in Vermont, Prince Edward Island, and others - and I simply guarantee that they do not compare with the treatment you receive at the Yelton, which is far superior. Their aspiration to be "The top of the crop of luxury B&B's" isn't simply a slogan...it's a firm commitment!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2004

We just returned from a two night stay at Yelton, given to us by our family for our 25th anniversary. We've been going to the Manor for years, usually in December. What a wonderful change to be able to see Elaine's beautiful garden! The books, breakfasts, comfort and hospitality are all as advertised. We've stayed in B&B's around country, and Yelton Manor is by far one of the tops. After a 5 year absence, we've booked a weekend in December. Let's hope for some snow to keep us in front of the fireplace surrounded by cookies and candy!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 25, 2004

My husband and I have stayed at a Bed & Breakfast only one other time. It was not a bad experience, but for some reason, my husband just did not feel comfortable. The hosts were very nice, but something just did not gel. "No more Bed and Breakfasts ", he announced. I honored his wishes....until now. Well.....he loved it, as did I. We were made to feel comfortable from the get-go. Elaine showed us around introducing us to the awesome collections of DVDS, VCRS and books....travel, fiction, non-fiction, cookbooks and more. Dinner reservations had been made for us for Saturday night and we were free to cancel if we had other plans. How considerate was that? I could go on and on, but feel one needs to experience this delightful place for themselves. Oh yes, the chocolate chip cookies and brownies (that were always replenished) were DELICIOUS. We hope to make this a yearly treat.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2004

The Wonderful Yelton Manor

Each year we set aside a few days to meet our dearest friends
for a relaxing visit. We have been to many B&Bs, but The Yelton Manor
is BY FAR the very best. We chose it because of its fabulous lakeside
location
(our friends live in Chicago, we live in Detroit...perfect!), but it
turned out to be
much more than that. The home is gorgeous, packed to the hilt with
pleasures and
loveliness. The hosts seem tireless...up early, out late...and seem to
give every guest a full
measure of attention, personal service (our dinner reservations were
already set for us when we arrived!),
and lots of laughs. The rooms are wonderful (we all had in-room
massages, a gift from my husband!)
and the food is delicious. And the gardens are too beautiful to ever
describe...we got to see Elaine
spreading compost and pulling weeds all afternoon, so we KNOW what kind
of work goes into it!
I am certain that my friends and I will make this an annual trip...no need
to research for a new place ever again

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Haven hotels
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#3 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.1 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#7 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#4 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 140 N Shore Dr, South Haven, MI 49090-1135
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two gorgeous Victorian mansions, named "Top of the Crop in Luxury B&Bs" by The Chicago Tribune and consistently ranked #1 lodging in Michigan by TripAdvisor! Expansive gardens, lovely decor, porches and parlors, fireplaces and jacuzzis, lake view balconies, great food, 1000's of books and video, dedicated innkeepers. All rooms have private bath, CTV/VCR/DVD, CVD stereos. Closest B&B in South Haven to sandy beaches of Lake Michigan and walkable to everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelton Manor Hotel South Haven
Yelton Manor b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing