We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really recommend Seymour House”
Review of Seymour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seymour House
Ranked #3 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

thank you to Patty,Mike and the staff ( without forgetting two lovely cats!) for making our honeymoon so unforgettable! nice breakfasts,comfortable rooms,a lovely house. do not forget to check their book and VCD-DVD collection,especially about two world wars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayse Neslihan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking for a B and B in the area look no further than the Seymour House. A comfortable and inviting bed and breakfast with the most accomodating innkeepers we have ever found in our travels. The rooms are charming, the breakfast is home cooking at it's finest and the overall service is beyond reproach. Dietary restrictions are no problem for Patty as she is very knowledgeable on these matters. My wife happens to be both gluten and dairy free and raved about breakfast. We stayed for 6 nights and could have stayed longer. Thanks Patty and Mike for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBmizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a terrific time at this year's New Years Eve Celebration. The evening was well planned, including the space between each course during dinner. This allowed us the opportunity to meet and fellowship with the other guests, who were all a delight and very socialable. Mike, Patty and their staff, especially Andrew, made everyone feel welcome and very special. All the food was homemade and extremly delicious and was at the level of a four-star resturant, including the appitizers, main entree, desert bar and even the sandwich and soup bar that was served at 12:30 am. In addition, the variety and portions of each course were not skimpy, bu abundent and plentiful. So much so, by the time the soup and sandwich bar were set-up, it was a challenge for some of us to consume much of it because we were already stuffed.

The house is beutifuly decorated. Our room was very comfortable, but we did not realize that there was no closet in that room, However, we made do with the small dresser and coat rack on the back of the bathroom door.

After having such a big dinner, the stratta, fruit and baked goods for breakfast hit the spot.

Everything was simply awesome!!!

I would highly recommend this B&B, especially their New Years Eve Package, to anyone. Regardless of who you are. Mike and Patty and their staff will certainly treat you very special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWW41983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

It's been a month, or more, since Laura and I had the immense pleasure of spending a long weekend with Mike and Patty Kirsch in their tasteful and comfortable B. & B.

We cannot wait to get back and enjoy the warmth, the setting and the fabulous breakfasts.

Thanks so much for making the whole state of Michigan seem more inviting, not just this small corner of it.

Paul Howard

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Overall such a lovely experience...from the M & M bowl in the foyer....the best breakfasts we have ever had...comfortable rooms...friendly/knowledgeable hosts...peaceful setting surrounding the house - enjoyed our cheese and cracker tray out there and also got to know the outdoor kitty kats - Samantha and Seymour. Lots to do around this area - shopping, wineries, beaches. Dune buggy ride out of Saugatuck was great fun. We would definitely go back and recommend to others. Very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linboberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Owners wonderful, food good, and the bed the most comfy of all the MANY B and B's we've stayed in! Everything is home-made, even down to Patty's breads and jams and jellys. We enjoy shopping and watching sunsets in South Haven. This is about 10 minutes north, but well worth the fresh country air and more quiet than South Haven or Saugatuck. We will return! Thanks Patty and Mike for sharing your wonderful country home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were greeted by the owner upon arrival and given a brief tour of the B&B. We brought our bikes as well and rode the 8 miles to South Haven - it was a quiet and quick ride with very little traffic. Upon your return we were given a great list of restaurants in Saugatuk for dinner.

The breakfast the following morning consisted of french toast and country sausage. The jellies and jams were all grown and canned on site and they were amazing.

This is a great little find close enough to Saugatuk and South Haven to enjoy all that they have to offer, but still far enough away to have a quiet and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Summer's Room was lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXN60613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
379 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
198 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
7.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
5.1 mi away
Hop & Vine Inn
Hop & Vine Inn
#1 of 2 in Fennville
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seymour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seymour House

Address: 1248 Blue Star Hwy, South Haven, MI 49090-9696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: $133 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seymour House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Seymour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing