We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Vineyard Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Cymru
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rural accommodation”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We drove here away from the bustle of Chicago.
A particularly warm welcome by the owners made us immediately attracted to this unique establishment.
We particularly enjoyed the cameraderie with the owner and our co-guests.
The gourmet breakfast was fantastic.
This is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trafaeiliaisybyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My fiance and I decided to have a private ceremony (just the 2 of us!). Martha's Vineyard had a great 2 person package. Our ceremony was just what we wanted. The room I picked online was smaller so they bumped us up to the larger room with a veranda. The weekend was relaxing. The ceremony, flowers, cake and champagne were fantastic. They recommended a place for my hair/makeup as well as an elegant dinner out and we were treated wonderfully at both places that were recommended. The 4 course breakfasts were amazing. We have already talked about spending our anniversary (and many more) at Martha's Vineyar

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and i stayed here for two nights in the guest house. It was our first stay at a B&B. The property is just beautiful, peaceful,and relaxing. We stayed in the guest house and found it to be very comfortable, clean, and quiet, which is just what we needed. The jacuzzi tub fit the both of us. The breakfast was very good and it was great having it delivered to your door. Would definitely recommend this B&B and would go back again.

Room Tip: I would pick the guest house, took a peak at all the rooms. It was much more private than the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siciliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in the guest house and were delighted with the charm and ambiance of the room! It was very cute and very clean, for being an older building. The grounds seemed un kept and not nearly as pretty as in the photos. The fountain in the little pond was never on. Also, our greeting seemed rather odd. Had to press a buzzer to have someone greet us. Ginger finally came out, said hello, and went to "get the key", but never came back. Saw her about 60 seconds. Then the Inn Keeper showed up, rattled off some local restaraunts and scurried off. Unlike many other B&B's and apparently what used to happen here prior to 2011, there was no food, ie cheese or crackers or fruit, but rather 1" little brownie bites, but only in the main house. It would have been nice to have something in the guest house kitchenette. For breakfast, we were told we could not eat at the main house on the porch, but would be brought a 4 course breakfast to our room. We were brought a rather untasty bit of food, egg/sausage casserole, banana bread, 4 pieces of fried potatoe,in a styrofoam box (toxins are released when styrofoam is heated), brown soggie pears, and orange juice. Stepped out of our room in the morning and were greeted to the sight and smell of someone cleaning fish in the kitchentte! Finally, we had housekeeping come to clean our room about 2 hours before check out saying she was told we were gone. Good thing we liked the room so much and didn't mind just being on our own.

Room Tip: If you want a real breakfast, don't stay in the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sp0rtee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigangigi3, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
We appreciate very much when our guests take time to share their experiences at Martha's Vineyard and offer feedback to others who may be considering a stay at our bed and breakfast. We understand that not everyone will have the same experience or enjoy our property and hospitality. We do hope however that when they share their thoughts that they will do so accurately with other guests. This guest reports that they had to ring a "buzzer" and Ginger finally "came out." Lou & I live in the back quarter of the home and have a welcome sign on the front desk to alert us when our guests have arrived, when they ring the bell we immediately greet them in the front foyer. We introduce ourselves and welcome them to Martha's Vineyard, our home. We also use our innkeeper to assist us with check-ins, she gives the guest a tour of the home, shows them where they will find afternoon refreshments, offers restaurant suggestions, and walks the guest to their room to get them settled in.

Afternoon refreshments are set out at 4pm and always consist of at least 3 items along with a beverage, they are set up in the dining room of the main house so that we can have a chance to see our guests and chat with them as they come and go for their afternoon snack and to make sure that they are adequately supplied. Also provided in the guesthouse kitchenette is popcorn and hot chocolate for evening movie watching.

Guests who reserve accomodations in the guesthouse generally do so because they like the idea of having breakfast delivered to the room, a feature which most B&B's do not offer. During the warmer weather months when we are serving breakfast on the veranda, guests are always welcomed from the guesthouse, and never told that they "can not." Several guests from the guesthouse enjoyed breakfast on the veranda that particular weekend. While breakfast is delivered hot from the oven, in a picnic basket (using sytrofoam containers) there is a wonderful bedtray set with dishes, silverware, coffee mugs, juice glasses, and cloth napkins in each room of the guesthouse for guests to enjoy their breakfast on.

We are glad that this guest enjoyed their room and found it clean and comfortable, our housekeeping staff does an excellent job and takes pride in their work. "Cozy & Relaxing."

We did have a guest who took a charter fishing trip with his wife and cleaned a fish in the guesthouse kitchenette, lesson learned - probably not a good idea. Trying to accomodate one guest, not a good experience for another.

We wish that this guest would have shared their disapointment while they were with us so that we could have addressed it with them personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were reluctant to stay in another B and B after some bad experiences, but this was great in every respect. More inn-like than B and B; no dolls or teddy bears. Breakfast was really fantastic. Four courses every morning, moderate portions, all delicious. The room was small but adequate, with its own small porch. Property is beautiful, and not right in the hustle and bustle of downtown Hosts were gracious and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblerMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our son was married at Martha's Vineyard B & B. Beatutiful setting....lovely rooms....excellent food! The innkeepers provided great attention to detail and a perfect setting for this special family event. It was a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyMom1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was my first time at a B&B and Martha's Vineyard did not disappoint. My husband and two other couples went for a nice weekend getaway and it was perfect. The grounds were nice with a family of four ducks, cottage was nicely decorated, as were the rooms. Every morning we were served a four course meal out on the deck and it was ALWAYS delicious! Not far from town or too far from Douglas. Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyOne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Haven hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#5 of 16 in South Haven
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Vineyard Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Bed & Breakfast

Property: Martha's Vineyard Bed & Breakfast
Address: 473 Blue Star Hwy, South Haven, MI 49090-8623
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary to our private piece of South Haven. With an air of relaxed elegance, away from the hustle and bustle, Martha's Vineyard offers luxurious accommodations of unparalleled comfort, heartfelt hospitality, service that anticipates and pampers and soul-inspiring surroundings. Select from eleven elegantly appointed guestrooms, each with private bath & fireplace, many with luxurious 2-person whirlpool tubs. All of our rooms are steeped with charm, and designed with your comfort in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Bed And Breakfast
Martha`s Vineyard Hotel South Haven
Marthas Vineyard b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing