We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Last Resort B & B Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

We choose to stay at this B&B primarly because of the location. It is walking distance to the beach ( half block & very clean) and dowtown is easily accessible by foot. We really liked that we could walk everywhere and not have to worry about parking. The B&B was clean and the hosts were very nice and pleasant. We stayed in a room that actually had 2 beds. They were full size beds but uncomfortable & the window A/C unit was very loud, but at least we had a view of the lake. A continental breakfast was available every morning. It consisted of bagels, fruit, hardboiled eggs, homemade banana nut bread, juice and coffee. The town is quaint and peaceful. It was a nice place to go just to get away and relax.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxxmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    65
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
61
94
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night while passing through South Haven. The location right across the street from the North beach was wonderful. The owners are delightful. We stayed in a sunny corner room and had a great night sleep. I highly recommend this B&B for a casual, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

The people that run this B&B are nice and there are lots of comfy areas to relax outside your room and on the deck. The location is also good, but South Haven is so small if you stay in town I think that would be true of anywhere. The breakfast was continental, as advertised. The food was simple, but the quality was good, better than you would expect for a continental breakfast at a hotel. I do wish there had been some variation day to day. My main gripe is our room, and I think they vary a lot in quality throughout the B&B but this is the worst room I have ever stayed in at a B&B. I guess I expect B&Bs to have little extras, but be sure that whatever amenities are advertised for your room, that's what will be in there. Our room didn't even have an alarm clock. I think the room was smaller than a cruise cabin, which made it hard to maneuver around and impossible to turn on the little window air conditioner without it blowing directly on you. The shower was also horrible, you couldn't control the water pressure and it was way too hard. Finally, the sink was just a sink, with nowhere to store anything. Makes it really hard for a lady to get ready in for the day!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

After booking a disastrous hotel in St. Joseph based on their web pictures(The Silver Beach Hotel- don't waste your money!). My friends and I drove up to South Haven and discovered this little gem right across from Lake Michigan. It's a gorgeous old house whose main attraction are the owners, Mary and Alberto, who were friendly, welcoming and serve up a fantastic breakfast.
My 3 best friends since first grade and I couldn't have been happier with our stay in the Penthouse Suite at the top of the house. We had a beautiful view of the harbor, a full kitchen and incredibly comfortable beds. We are definitely making this our girl's- weekend-away destination for next year.
IT's minutes away from downtown and literally a walk across the street to the beautiful beach on Lake Michigan.
P.S. Mary and Alberto promised a Salsa dancing demonstration next year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diabolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Run, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

After a strange and scary "twilight zone" type drive from the Detroit area, my girlfriends and I landed on the doorstep of The Last Resort B&B Inn. It was getting dark and we were tired and hungry and praying for some place to have availability for the weekend. We were in luck! Mary and Alberto the inn-keepers welcomed us with smiles and open arms. They showed us several different options of rooms (all beautiful) and we decided to go with the "harborview penthouse" on the third (top) floor. Mary & Alberto gave us a wonderful deal!. It was just what we envisioned when planning this annual "girls getaway" weekend. It was a beautiful, airy, spacious and comfortable suite with private bathroom and kitchen area. More than enough room for the four of us. We loved the balcony with the view of the harbor -- very quiet and peaceful. The common areas were also beautiful with many works of art by Mary and others from Mary & Alberto's many travels. They had absolutely beautiful jewelry, handbags, shoes and other crafts for sale from their second home -- Colombia, South America. The breakfasts are titled continental -- but are really so much more! They serve a yogurt/freash granola/freash fruit parfait that is to-die-for! Lake Michigan beach access is right across the street from the inn and the main drag of South Haven - shopping, restaurants, harbor, lighthouse, etc. - are walking distance away. We would definitely recommend The Last Resort for any kind of getaway - girls-only or romantic. The inn-keepers were very friendly and accommodating (Mary is actually hilarious!). We are already planning next year's "girls-only getaway" at The Last Resort Inn!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamacita989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We heard about The Last Resort from my hairdresser... and wow were we surprised! We arrived late at night to this quaint B&B and when we arrived we had no idea how amazing our weekend for two would be!

Mary and Alberto are great hosts and are there for direction and also know how to let us enjoy the surroundings for ourselves! The breakfast was great, our room was sweet, and bed super comfy!

The area has so much to offer! Saturday we visited a winery and stopped by Saugatuck where there was SO much going on. We stopped by a few wine tasting stores, grabbed a piece of amazing coconut cheesecake and decided to had back to The Last Resort for a bit more peace and calmness! We had some wine that we bought from the winery and went to Tello's in downtown South Haven, MI - we highly recommend this spot for fine dining!

Sunday morning we started with a great run, some lunch on the front porch and then we hit up the beach! The beach is literally across the street and beautiful! The weather was amazing - hot and a bit of a breeze! We headed into town again and grabbed a light snack and a chilled coffee! The town is super cute and within walking distance to The Last Resort! We ended up going back and wrapping up another bottle of wine with an awesome cheese tray/fruit plate on the front porch, then headed over for margaritas and burritos at the local taco place - they have great rooftop seating and great music!

The pier and harbor is right in the backyard of The Last Resort... which is beautiful! Next time we visit we are going to take a boat tour! We really liked that we could pretty much park our car there and walk to dinner and town... My significant other and I had a great weekend together and some awesome one on one time!

I definitely recommend visiting The Last Resort soon... we are planning our next weekend getaway within the upcoming weeks!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahacurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

My wife and I have been coming here for years. From the first visit, it truly feels like a home away from home. It is a very relaxed easy going environment (not formal and stuffy like some B&Bs). Just perfect for unwinding before watching a picture perfect sunset from the front porch. The front and back porches are huge and they even have a little picnic area overlooking the harbor in the back yard. FABULOUS!
Mary & Alberto - the owners - are down to earth and super friendly but not intrusive. They have a wonderful collection of international music you can listen to any time day or night. There's unique art all over the mansion, and wonderful music during breakfast. Sometimes Mary will sing or play her flute along with the music, and occasionally people will even dance!
The location is absolutely perfect - walk right across the street to the beach. The beach feels like you're in Hawaii or someplace far far away (see the photo). It's the best beach we've ever been too. When you stay here you never have to drive anywhere the entire weekend. It's so convenient.
The serve yourself continental breakfasts are light and yummy. Nothing fancy but still satisfying. I just can't say enough good things about this home away from home.
It's affordable and unique. I highly recommend making a visit!
OH, and it's KID FRIENDLY!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.9 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Resort B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Resort B & B Inn

Property: The Last Resort B & B Inn
Address: 86 N Shore Dr, Van Buren County, South Haven, MI 49090-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Last Resort B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From small affordable cozy rooms for two, up to spacious Penthouse Jacuzzi suites for couples, or families, this inn offers the relaxed non-formal atmosphere you are looking for when you need to unwind! Whether it's for a family reunion or for a romantic get-away or for that much needed independent escape, this is the right place! Inkeepers/artist Mary & Alberto will help you unwind and enjoy your relaxing get-away at this wonderful B&B by Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Last Resort B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Resort Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Last Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing