We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our First Resort !!!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Last Resort B & B Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2008

OLD FASHIONED, ECCENTRIC, PERFECTION !!! Need I say more?
Mary & Alberto have a first class B&B!!! My wife and I were married on the beach and booked The Last Resort for the weekend.2-3days and you have friends for life!
SIMPLY THE BEST !!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffalobilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2007

The building is very nice, no doubt. However, since we had a small child we were told to sit outside just after a heavy rain. It was windy and the chairs and tables were still wet. Everyone else got to stay inside with the music and artwork and near the food. I felt like I was an outcast simply because we had a small child. The owner also told us to have my son sleep on the couch and has no right to tell me how to stay in my room after paying $200 a night. The owner should not be running a bed and breakfast.

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank David10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

This was my fourth visit to this charming B&B, and it seems everytime is better than before. It is a lovely older home, right across from lake Mi. , many rooms overlooking the water. The owners, Mary and Alberto, are warm, helpful and quite unique. They are full of life, and being artists, the B&B is full of their beautiful art and music. The rooms are decorated with the unusual, but beautiful flare of these artisans and the beds are so comfy that you would want to sleep all day, except for the gorgeous beaches and blue waters of lake MI waiting. The breakfast is continental, but delicious, and a sort of "do it yourself" arrangement, which I found much more relaxed and condusive to meeting and getting to know the other guests in an enjoyable, laid back atmosphere. If you find yourself with a little time on your hands, waiting for dinner or just needing to stay nearby and read or relax outside, there is a wonderfully, peaceful garden with lawn chairs, flowers and fountains that invite you to finish that favorite book or just nap in nature. A very unique and healing place definately worth exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MIlexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

I'm very surprised by the critical comments about this b&b. I called last minute to get a room and was offered an upgrade for no additional charge. We got there after 10:30 PM and were left the keys and directions to our room on the inner glass door. We didn't want to be social, so we never went down to breakfast, but on our last day when we finally popped our heads in to pay, the hostess was delighted to meet us, kept breakfast out and told us to stay as long as we liked past the 11:00 AM checkout time. We were the last to leave, and she made us feel very welcome to stay and not a nuisance to her, even though she and the staff were preparing the inn to close for the season. Our room was exactly as pictured on the website, and yes, most rooms are small but very, very clean with comfortable bed and soft, lovely bedspreads. We had a lovely view of the harbor. As for the artwork, art is subjective.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Asyngin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

This is the third year we have stayed at the B&B. It is a half-block walk to the public beach and a short walk downtown to all the shops & restaurants. The inn was built in the 1880's and the innkeeper has recently put in new carpet, windows, wood floors and a new TV in the lobby. The rooms are clean and air conditioned. Each room has a unique decor, which can be construed as eccentric. Breakfast is mostly breads, muffins, fruit, and yogurt. Do try it out! Good Location, Good Price, and great city.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Anjiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, Indiana
1
Reviewed June 13, 2006

My wife and I have visited at the Last Resort (LR) each summer over the past 10 years. and I am quite surprised to read the critical comments left by a few other guests here.

Most certianly, the LR is quite different from all the other Inns in the area!! LR Inn is a block to the beach and has a front porch that is an incomparable place for a glass of wine at sunset! And yes, the furnitue is eclectic.. yes, the gardens are kind of an organized beautiful wildness ...and yes, Mary, the owner/innkeeper, is an, exuberant loveable character! Good natured... but... if you' ve been to beach please wash the sand off your feet before you come in the house!

For us the LR Inn is an fun getaway place. Rooms are small but clean and comparitively speaking, ... inexpensive. No TV or internet which is exactly what I'm vacationing from!

Breakfast is not a sit down four -course meal .. more of a continental approach which suits me because if we're real hungry we love the local flavor of the Phoenix Street Cafe.

In all the best ways, LR Inn reminds me of visiting my Aunt Dolly's lake cottage as a child!

Stayed: June 2005
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2006

After falling in love with this B&B and wanting to recommend it to other worldly travelers, I was disappointed to find that other guests did not share the same experience. However, my husband and I found the weekend get-away to be exactly what our spirits were yearning for: laid-back ease, lake views from the room, strolls to near-by restaurants and pier, and lots of love... and all very much affordable. The Inn-Keeper and her Colombian husband were an interesting pair and always happy to make our stay a happy one. I have already recommended this place to friends and family for quick get-aways to a small resort town on the Lake!
They have a bike rack too.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank Barretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.9 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Resort B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Resort B & B Inn

Address: 86 N Shore Dr, Van Buren County, South Haven, MI 49090-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: $119 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Last Resort B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From small affordable cozy rooms for two, up to spacious Penthouse Jacuzzi suites for couples, or families, this inn offers the relaxed non-formal atmosphere you are looking for when you need to unwind! Whether it's for a family reunion or for a romantic get-away or for that much needed independent escape, this is the right place! Inkeepers/artist Mary & Alberto will help you unwind and enjoy your relaxing get-away at this wonderful B&B by Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Last Resort B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Resort Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Last Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing