We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner!”
Review of Hotel Nichols

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nichols
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in south haven and really enjoyed it stay at Hotel Nichols. It is such an interesting, authentic building. Each room is decorated so uniquely. Being in the heart of downtown was also great. Could walk to everything. We would definitely go back!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank bsand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

My experience at Hotel Nichols was horrific that my fiancé and I did not stay for the weekend. When I checked in the receptionist who is the owner was rude and disrespectful. When I asked where my room was she said upstairs and down the hall. After walking into my bedroom which was not large enough for two and still upset from my prior experience, I walked downstairs to voice my concerns. At this time the owner was impolite and intrusive. She said that all rooms are booked and that we could not receive a refund because it was 4th ofJuly weekend, unless someone would occupy the room.

Needless to say we stayed across the street and noticed that our room WAS occupied for both nights (sign in front read "full occupancy") and she still charged our account. We travel to South Haven yearly and would never stay at Hotel Nichols after this terrible experience.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
11  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOEY21, Owner at Hotel Nichols, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our staff as well as our website (and our confirmation letter) encourages all guests to look at pictures of all of our rooms on our website. Yes, indeed we are 2 very small rooms and we do not hold that as a secret. We also have large rooms, adjoining room suites as well as three bedroom apartments. Guests are encouraged to choose rooms based on their needs and pocket book. To ease your mind Jason, just as our policy indicates "if the room is rented you will be refunded". I checked the date in question, our records indicate a credit on the 4th of July weekend. Please let us know should it have not posted on your account. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My stay at Hotel Nichols was excellent. The hotel is ran by a mother/daughter team formerly of Britain who are delightful to talk with and very hospitable. The hotel is very charming, located just across the street from the movie theater and next to the toy store, while across the street is a row of shops and restaurants. The bedroom itself was a one bed room with its own bathroom. The room had an AC unit and was kept up very well. I could tell they definitely clean a lot here as I couldn't find anything that was dirty. I would highly recommend this place and hopefully I have a chance to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a community bathroom, so when booking make sure you read about whether the hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndyBeckyAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOEY21, Owner at Hotel Nichols, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot wait to have you visit us again. Just to let you know all of our rooms have full bathrooms. We completed the last one about 4-5 years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a nice, relaxing stay at Hotel Nichols this weekend. Would definitely recommend this quaint, historic hotel for a piece of nostalgia in the heart of South Haven. It was close to all shopping, right across from the movie theater, and a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've come to South Haven many years to enjoy the sun, water, and fireworks in July. We've rented homes and stayed at different hotels, but once we discovered Hotel Nichols it's become our first choice in accommodations! So many rooms to choose from. Some with baths in the hall and some with private baths. We've booked both and while we prefer a private bath, sharing one wasn't bad at all. Anna tries very hard to grant every request and her staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great so you can walk just about everywhere you need to go. It's the perfect place to relax and have a good time.

Room Tip: Click on the pictures. You'll have a hard time choosing as they are all unique and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ibgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Hotel Nichols! Anna and the entire staff were friendly and accommodating! The hotel was what one should expect from a historic hotel... Charming and full of character. Our room was spotless clean and the bathroom was recently renovated and immaculate. Thank you, Anna! We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brooke U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

South Haven is wonderful but what really "makes" it is the Hotel Nichols. Anna caters to you every need and the rooms are beautiful. Also the best location in town. We have been coming to South for over 5 years and when we look at other hotels, none compare. All the guests are warm and friendly and, although, occasionally are children, they are well-behaved and courteous

Room Tip: Read the brochure. They are all lovely but have special quirks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
151 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nichols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nichols

Address: 201 Center St, South Haven, MI 49090-1311
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: $100 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nichols is located right int he center of historic South Haven. Browse through pictures of all of our rooms. We may be over 100 years old but we offer all modern amenities(full baths, ac, WIFI, cable, etc) All of the shops, restaurants, coffee shops and attractions begin right outside it's doors. Beaches, marinas, parks and pier are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing