We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Yummy Little Italian Find”

Tello Italian Bistro
Ranked #18 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun and Yummy Little Italian Find”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stopped into Tello four years ago on a whim. Hadn't been back since, but stopped again a week ago as we were back up in the area. We weren't disappointed! Stopped in without a reservation in the middle of the busy vacation season. The place was full (good sign) but we got a table right away. Servers were helpful (except the underage server who could not speak to the wine menu!) and prompt. Each table gets two wait staff so water, bread, drinks were always right at hand.
We split an amazingly simple yet dramatic grilled romain salad with a lemon viniagrette. Greens were warm, yet still had crunch. Just a delicious combination of flavors, textures and temperatures. I had a poached whitefish dinner that is a house specialty. Very lovely presentation; fish over small new potatoes, asparagus, tiny tomatoes and mushrooms, all cooked in a mental handled au grautin dish. Veggies were so full of fresh summer flavor, and the fish was cooked to perfection. A terrific, light summer dinner.
Try this place out, we have found it consistent over such long separated visits.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swanbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    77
    39
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fort wayne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother making a reservation”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Tello's appeared to be a nice place so we made a reservation to eat there to celebrate my brothers 60th birthday. There were 10 in our group. We made the reservation in person. We saw the hostess write it on the reservation form that they use. When we arrived on Saturday night at 6:25 for our 6:30 reservation they told us they didn't have a reservation for our party. Do you know what it is like on a Saturday night in July to find another place for a group of 10??? Not easy, especially when my mother was with us and she can not get around very easily. I will never go back. I know that places can make mistakes but the attitude of the staff was very poor. They acted as if the error was on our part, not theirs. I was so upset by their attitude I am not willing to give them a 2nd chance.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lolo1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very pleasant big city style dinner”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had an enjoyable dinner on a Friday night - very much in the Chicago style and a cut above other Lake Michigan shore town experiences. We made reservations online using Tello's own system (note - it would be helpful for the address to print on the reservation confirmation). On arrival we were seated almost immediately; all staff were pleasant and friendly. Our drinks were slightly delayed because the new bartender didn't know how to make a lemon drop martini (it wasn't on the drink list) so the manager did it instead. It was so good that I had a second one! We started with ricotta balls and a Caesar salad accompanied by the Italian bread (and olive oil/Parmesan dip prepared at the table). Our tasty entrees were the butternut squash ravioli and the whitefish. We were too full for dessert (blame our Sherman's lunch, not Tello's). We would be happy to return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thisis a great Italian restaurant with fresh, delicious dishes. the chef's special is always worth it. the servers are professional and friendly. a very nice place to go late and enjoy a great downtown after dinner. the boat docks and lake are not far away to watch the sunset.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artistiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Service was attentive and friendly. Food was creative, fresh and delicious. Enjoyed the Spaghetti di Tello and the Risotto. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tello Italian Bistro also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Tello Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing