We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what happened??”

Phoenix Street Cafe
Ranked #5 of 70 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Classic and Ecclectic Breakfast/Lunch with the following friendly options: Kids, Vegetarians, Vegans, and Gluten Sensitives.
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“what happened??”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Last few times I've been here it wasn't so great...but my most recent visit was really awful....used to love this place for breakfast. The oatmeal pancakes (which is why I tried it again) were really greasy....I felt like I'd just eaten at McDonalds after having one!! My dining partner got the "hash brown rounds" as he doesn't care for the "haven fries"...they were AGAIN just like McDs andSthat's not a good thing. Tab way too high for what we got and I could hear the waitresses arguing with the cook...
So sad to see this happen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    106
    41
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Joseph, MI
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a favorite hangout for lunch. In the Benton Harbor Arts District and so we often meet up for lunch as it's close for everyone. Great meals and always something different. A little pricey but well worth it. The atmosphere is laid-back and fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cameraguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast Too”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a wonderful place to eat. The food is excellent. Such a popular place, the lines are long at times, but worth the wait. So many different dishes to choose from, no matter the time of day. Excellent service and just great food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

may have a wait in summer but the food is creative but good basics. Prices are decent and they have evening special that are really good. Nice basic selection of wine. Breakfast lunch and dinner have all been great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were a party of eight and I have to say, this was an amazing food experience. I had the seared ahi, it was a daily special for $9.99, and it was cooked to perfection. I also tasted the salmon and it was delicious. I loved the interior decor. It made me feel like I was in a beautifully finished urban loft. I am from California and I thought that their wine selection was very good. They played wonderful, soft music in the background and I really wished I was there having a romantic dinner with my husband. My family lives in Michigan and I definitely will return to the Phoenix Cafe for my next visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlondeHulaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Street Cafe also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Phoenix Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing