We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot for South Haven or Saugatuck visit”
Review of Sun n Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun n Sand Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice spot for South Haven or Saugatuck visit”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Sun 'n Sand is a simple, clean, and quaint place to stay. He enjoyed a week there in August 2012. Our trip was to visit South Haven which is about 2 miles to downtown and Lake Michigan from the hotel. We also visited Saugatuck/Douglas, which are about 10 miles away, a very quick and easy drive.

My wife and I stayed in the Beach House in room 101. It was everything we wanted in a moderately-priced room. Clean, comfortable bed, pleasant surroundings, courteous and helpful staff. It is nothing fancy, if you are looking for Ritz-style amenities you won't find them here. But at the price, it is more than satisfactory. The salt water pool was spotlessly clean and refreshing, with a nice area to sunbathe and patio tables to sit at.

Our room was strictly for two people, it would be difficult to accomodate more. They have larger rooms if needed.

Frank helped us with some eating options on the night we arrived and his recommendations were great. There was no dining at Sun 'n Sand.

To sum it up, it is not a "resort" to my way of thinking. It IS a nice room, clean, nice pool, with easy access to South Haven and Saugatuck. We would go there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The Beach House 101 was great, it is the only one we saw, but I would assume whole beach house is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    17
    15
    8
See reviews for
54
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FARMINGTON HILLS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My parents and I stayed here for a few days during the week. They were on the first floor and we were on the second. My parents had no issues. We found out that they had a huge wedding party there right before we checked in so I think maybe they were rushed cleaning all the rooms. It looked like someone had used a beard trimmer in my bathroom and there was an empty case of beer left in the cupboard with the fridge. As soon as we let the front desk know it was taken care of immediately. They only complaint that I have is that we were there for three days any no one seemed to check the bathrooms at the pool. There was a small wastebasket in the bathrooms and they were overflowing. I am sure if I said something to the front desk it would have been taken care of but I didn't. There were a few beer cans left at the pool but I did not complain about that either. Having said that I would totally stay there again. It is a beautiful setting just outside of town and the rooms are what I expected after reading reviews...small but very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. I enjoyed the atmosphere and quiet. It was a wonderful vacation. Maybe after a wedding they should have a few people help with the clean up but it was not that big of a deal :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It is a real life version of The Kellerman's Resort from Dirty Dancing, only no Patrick Swayze. Charming and just far enough of the main drag to be peaceful and relaxing, close enough to enjoy the lake, restaurants and other amenities that South Haven has to offer. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with key code locks, so no key to lose (plus), nice pool and beach for kids, nice property with plenty of room to spread out and relax and Cousin's restaurant down the street makes a fine breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spartan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Came across this place late at night as we were driving to Chicago and were getting a bit desperate to find somewhere. Lovely location in a great setting, lovely pool area where we sat the next morning and had coffee and muffins before leaving.
Very pleasant host - room was a little on the small side but did the job for one night. Comfortable bed - the only small complaint is that the room could have done with a bedside lamp as the main lighting was rather harsh but overall would have no hesitation in recommending this place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrundallbazNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We usually stay at the express it is convenient and very nice. They were full so upon reccomendations we tried this place. We are very happy it met all our expectations and it a fine establishment. We will check here first next time. really loved the place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanya t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Loved this place. It brought back the feel of home for me. I had planned on being gone most of the time but we actually ended up just staying at the resort. Had a glass of wine and read a book by the beautiful pond and enjoyed the geese coming up to say hi. Next time, i am bringing my whole family to enjoy this place. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdavis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The wife and I loved this place. It was a very quiet and relaxed atmosphere (aside from a large group of people who managed to make a large amount of noise through the night and left garbage everywhere on the property.) We really admired the architecture of the actual motel and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in front of our second floor room. Our room was facing west which provided a great view of the Michigan wilderness, which was part of a few great sunsets we really enjoyed. Loved the salt water pool, it was very refreshing in the middle of the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. We originally booked a second floor room which was very small for us, our baby and all of our belongings. After the first night some guests had checked out and we went to the front desk to ask if there was any possible way we could switch to a larger room. Without hesitation they provided us with a bigger room. We will be returning here for our next visit to South Haven.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank August M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
4.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#3 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#1 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun n Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun n Sand Resort

Property: Sun n Sand Resort
Address: 176 Blue Star Hwy, South Haven, MI 49090-8610 (Formerly South Haven Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce the return of the Sun 'n Sand Resort to South Haven Michigan! Truly a "blast from the past" - our historic property features clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value! Our resort has a variety of 31 guest rooms and plenty of activities for the entire family. Sun 'n Sand features a brand new saltwater pool, a pond with waterfall, firepits, other outdoor games, and a walking trail. We offer the perfect setting for weddings, family reunions, or group getaways! All so close to all that South Haven has to offer - fabulous beaches, quaint shopping, Kal-Haven trail, wonderful museums, boat rides on the Friends Good Will and the new riverlaunch Lindy Lou - and so many fun events and festivals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sun n Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing