We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun n Sand Resort
Nearby Hotels
$72
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
$95
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
$81
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nichols(South Haven)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
57
42
18
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
42
18
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach housethe salt water poolsand areasand playlots of historyrehearsal dinnerdouble roombeautiful groundschain hotelswonderful staythe cottagespitspondvintageweekendhammocksterri
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 144 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We usually stay at the express it is convenient and very nice. They were full so upon reccomendations we tried this place. We are very happy it met all our expectations and it a fine establishment. We will check here first next time. really loved the place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tanya t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Loved this place. It brought back the feel of home for me. I had planned on being gone most of the time but we actually ended up just staying at the resort. Had a glass of wine and read a book by the beautiful pond and enjoyed the geese coming up to say hi. Next time, i am bringing my whole family to enjoy this place. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdavis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The wife and I loved this place. It was a very quiet and relaxed atmosphere (aside from a large group of people who managed to make a large amount of noise through the night and left garbage everywhere on the property.) We really admired the architecture of the actual motel and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in front of our second floor room. Our room was facing west which provided a great view of the Michigan wilderness, which was part of a few great sunsets we really enjoyed. Loved the salt water pool, it was very refreshing in the middle of the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. We originally booked a second floor room which was very small for us, our baby and all of our belongings. After the first night some guests had checked out and we went to the front desk to ask if there was any possible way we could switch to a larger room. Without hesitation they provided us with a bigger room. We will be returning here for our next visit to South Haven.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank August M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a lovely place -- rooms are small but clean and located minutes from South Haven town center -- a cute town, great beaches and low-key, very pleasant restaurants and shops! The Sun and Sand resort is rustic but has lovely touches such as overflowing flower baskets on the wraparound porches of the Beach House, a great salt-water pool and sandy play area for the little ones. Each night my sisters and Mom and I sat outside chilling with a glass of wine enjoying conversations, looking at the small pond and listening to the waterfall fountain. There's a quaint and quiet feel to the place and nice conversations to be had at poolside with other guests. What a find and a good deal for the price! Swimming in Lake Michigan is a real treat! Will return for more.

Room Tip: I can vouch for the Beach House and the building right behind! Nice rooms, baths and a small fridge and sink and coffee/tea maker if you need.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleenabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Place is so nice I am coming back this month. Rooms are great,comfortable and clean.Great location close to everything. We could not ask for more and the price was good considering the competition.Bedding and bed was great I have not slept this well in a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dairy9278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews