We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected!”
Review of Sun n Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun n Sand Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This resort is not well represented by the photos!! It is not the 1950's musty smelling room I expected!! All new carpet, furnishing, bedding...oh and the brand new pool (awesome)! No Lake Michigan access or view, but great economical place, with exceptional service!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dewydoright7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Sun n Sand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 144 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed over the Labor day weekend after having read the reviews. You always are a little uneasy when a place had bad reviews a long time ago.

This place exceeded all of our expectations by far! Easy to get to, just a little ways out of town, quiet, clean--just great! The rooms are small, but they are very neat and organized-we loved that there was so much of the original character still in the rooms. The staff is so very friendly. We did not use the pool, but it was very clean and had a great deck to sit and visit.

We would come back here in a heartbeat. You ought to get here before everyone else finds out about it!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgeandgertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I had a fantastic experience getting married at Sun 'n Sand. We held the rehearsal dinner at the pool, the ceremony by the lake, and had the reception in a tent in the field area -- it couldn't have worked out better! Our guests rented all the rooms (which are very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced), and it was very convenient for everyone having everything in the same place. The kids especially had a great time over the weekend!

The management and staff at Sun 'n Sand was very cooperative and easy to work with, and really helped make the weekend a success. We actually decided on Sun 'n Sand before they had reopened and before they had completed much of their renovations, but they delivered on everything they said they were going to do, and the place looked great by the time of our wedding! They did not try to "nickel and dime" us or anything, and were very accommodating to our requests. We do not live in the South Haven area, and Scott and Patty at Sun 'n Sand were extremely helpful in hooking us up with some great local vendors for catering, music, flowers, etc.

In short, we would highly recommend Sun 'n Sand for your wedding or other special event, as well as just for a nice getaway -- we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a nice time staying at Sun n Sand and loved the pool and environs. The room was a bit small but it had a fridge and microwave. We enjoyed morning breakfast at the table on the porch in front of our room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MegB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in room 309 for 2 nights. The room was small but clean. However, we kept finding bugs. We found a total of 6 over the 2 days. Some Mosquitos, some not (wasn't sure what they were). Anyway, the property has a new pool, a nice pond with waterfall, fire pit and area to roam around. There are also 2 ducks (see pics). One morning we awoke to them pecking at our door. It was sort of charming but also sort of annoying as I wanted to sleep. For $89, I feel I got what I paid for. I did like that they had cheap water (.50 cents) available at the front desk. Also, the people at the front desk were very kind and gave us great suggestions for the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wieds138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I almost made the mistake of walking away after viewing the size of the rooms. Then I remembered it's Michigan. You don't spend time in your room. So we turned around and called a corner room our home for two nights. The room grew as I unpacked. The frig was nicely tucked away, good sized closet and shelf space,. The decent size washroom was very clean, good soaps and shampoos, and nice fluffy soft towels. Beds and pillows were super comfortable. The room was decorated in a way which really gave it a relaxing touch. Good job on the room! Ice and soda machine were nearby.
Now for the goodies! Sun n Sand has bent over backwards to please. It is located on a good sized piece of land and they have utilized it keeping in touch with nature. There is a new heated pool with a bath house, plenty of tables and chairs around it and provide big beach towels. Water volleyball and basketball were fun for us adults! Nearby there is a very large beachy "sandbox" area for the kids, right near the pond. Oh, the pond! It has a cool waterfall (lit at night), recycling and filtering the pond water resulting in water with just beautiful reflections. Reeds, wild flowers and two of the cutest friendly white ducks top it off. There are chairs and tables around the pond, but not enough to crowd it. Great place to read, reflect, talk or just chill.
In the back area of the property there is a volleyball net with ball, horseshoes, and a big box filled with bocce balls, croquet and other kid toys. They worked fine for us big kids! There is also a hiking trail. At the beginning you'll find a tupperware container with instructions and bug spray in it-just in case you forgot. The wide trail winds through a big field of colourful wild flowers, then through some woods. We ended up at the lake, but once you get there it's private property and on a bluff, so you turn around. It is a cool little hike, took maybe an hour and a half total, strolling.
There are chairs, tables, grills, and picnic tables here and there, located in perfect spots on the property. A fire pit is in the back with wood provided. Sun n Sand even put a tupperware container with a lighter in it. They thought of all of the little things and provided them. I do suggest setting the fire up before sundown as there was no kindling, and starting a fire with fluid is cheating! We really enjoyed the fire and the stars at night-alot. It'd be great for a marshmellow or weenie roast.
The restaurant is not yet open, probably next spring. A breakfast/lunch place is down the road, walkable. They do have comp. coffee in the rooms or in the reception area, along with tea. Ice for coolers is for sale.
We really loved this place. Such a fantastic family place. For a quiet romantic time I would not suggest going during the weekends in the summer. This is a kid country paradise place where mom and dad can still chill. During the week, it worked very well for us "romantics". I wanted to stay another night. The downtown and beaches of South Haven are a close drive, but Sun n Sand thought of that too. They rent sturdy bikes.
OK. I sound like I'm a paid contributor, right? Ha! I'm not done. The employees were out of this world nice and helpful. They all do all of it, very well and with a genuine sincerity that comes with enjoying their jobs (maybe not so much in the 90 degree heat) and being nice people. I never met the owner, but that's OK, Erica covered all of the bases as professionally as I have experienced in 5 star hotels. Even the other guests were super nice.
Job well done to all! We're your new groupies!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My fiance and I just got back from a romantic getaway to South Haven. We stayed at the Sun 'n Sand and it was perfect! Once you get used to the laid back way the staff checks you in (You have to call to get someone to come to the desk), you will enjoy a wonderful, relaxing time. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are a bit small, but very clean, cozy and charming. The bed is nice and comfortable and the grounds are BEAUTIFUL! We loved the pond with the water fountain (and the two cute little ducks who hung out with each other), the pool was clean and had lots of activities, the fire pit was perfect for a night out in the country and everyone (even guests) were super polite and quiet. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a quaint getaway that is everything that it promises!!

Room Tip: We had room 207 on the upper level of the beach house
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lainey7323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
4.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
24.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun n Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun n Sand Resort

Address: 176 N. Blue Star Hwy, South Haven, MI 49090-8610 (Formerly South Haven Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce the return of the Sun 'n Sand Resort to South Haven Michigan! Truly a "blast from the past" - our historic property features clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value! Our resort has a variety of 31 guest rooms and plenty of activities for the entire family. Sun 'n Sand features a brand new saltwater pool, a pond with waterfall, firepits, other outdoor games, and a walking trail. We offer the perfect setting for weddings, family reunions, or group getaways! All so close to all that South Haven has to offer - fabulous beaches, quaint shopping, Kal-Haven trail, wonderful museums, boat rides on the Friends Good Will and the new riverlaunch Lindy Lou - and so many fun events and festivals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sun n Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing