We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to South Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites South Haven
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not enough seating in the breakfast area. As a tourist area, everybody is downstairs for breakfast, even through the week. And wifi was not good. Had it in the evening, but it would not work the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 151 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

I found the rating for this hotel on this website and other travel websites puzzling. Rated as 6th best out of 12 for stays in South Bend at the time I booked my trip (late June, 2014). I found the facility to be clean and quiet. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and very polite. My only 'complaint' is the difficult access to the building/parking lot from the street (Phoenix Road) which is not under the control over the hotel (although better signage/directions to the building entrance would be helpful). Overall I'd rate my stay a 9.5/10.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a standard comfort inn, clean, hospitable, competitively priced (which is way too high for South haven before July- in my opinion ). Breakfast is as expected. No major complaints except that we could hear the television in the next room as though it was in our room. Other than that, the only down side is that it is on the highway, away from the lake and shops. There is a cool independent dairy with ice cream and other treats nearby.

Room Tip: next to an "empty" room would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowwowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

When you travel -- you have a standard. The place has to be clean and neat and comfortable. You don't need every perk... but you need the essentials done well. This place is clean, neat, comfortable and affordable. Plus the staff is pleasant.... don't appear to work for some corporate person a million miles away. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocandSugarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had never been to this area before, and we were booking two rooms for 3 nights, one for ourselves & one for our children who were coming in from Denver CO to meet us, so really were keeping our fingers crossed. We were given 2 rooms on 2nd floor, elevator made it VERY simple to navigate, and the rooms were fantastic. A beautiful hotel, very helpful & friendly staff, quiet & clean clean clean!!! The one big problem, we were located right above the entrance, and smokers would stand right outside the entrance. We had the windows open in both rooms, the weather didn't require the heat or air, and the smoke filled the rooms. Since we're very allergic, we had to close the windows & run air, even though it wouldn't have been needed. Our room wasn't as bad, but our kids' room, closest to the entrance, just smelled like stale cigarette smoke, and if I would have known that a day earlier, would have requested a room change. We suggested on check out that maybe they could move smokers across the parking area, away from the entrance. We would not hesitate to stay here again, but wanted others to be aware of where they put you.

Room Tip: Don't let them book you right above or next to the entrance to the hotel. The rooms will smell l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goinplaces33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay 100%. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will use the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Thank you for the positive feedback as well.

We look forward to you and your family staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was traveling to Chicago Midway Airport and I had forgotten to check-in online before I left the house. I stopped at the Comfort Suite and Christina quickly unlocked the Business Center so I could use the computer and complete the task. Service like this is why I stay at Comfort Suites when ever possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank randy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hello Randy, Thank You for taking the time to send us a kind review. Thank you for stoping in to see us here at Comfort Suites. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The atmosphere was so relaxing. The staff was so helpful and the rooms were big and clean. There was five of us and we didnt feel crowded and the kids really enjoyed the pool. The breakfest was great to. They had blueberry waffles, sausage, eggs, donuts, cereal and more. It was one of the best hotels ive been at in a while.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hello Mike, Thank You for taking the time to send us a kind review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Suites. We hope to see you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
23.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South Haven

Address: 1755 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: $72 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing