We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites South Haven
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here one night and it was fine. The room was clean and spacious. The pool was really nice. Beds were comfortable. My MIL slept on the pull out couch and she said it was comfortable too. I would stay here again. We were on the 2nd floor right by the elevator but did not hear any noise from the elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realestategirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at Comfort Suites on July 5th and 6th. Purpose of the hotel was what it should be: beds were so comfortable, pillows were awesome, the room was very quite (we were at the 3rd floor), room was nice and clean, For breakfast hotel offered: scramble eggs, sausages, waffels, donuts, English muffins, three type of cereal, coffee, tea, juice, milk. It was very very nice. We paid $149 per night. My husband happened to have terrible snore problems so we asked closer to the night to have extra room. For another room they charged us $100. We are very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rusanna00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked our room the day before - had been staying next door at the Holiday Inn Express (very nice) but they did not have availability for this night. We stopped at Comfort Suites at 11:00 a.m. and asked if there was any chance for a 2:00 p.m. check in and were told he didn't know - we could check back.

We came back at 2:00, only to find another couple in a discussion with the desk manager regarding cleanliness issues - after his discussion with them, he left the desk area to check on it. I asked these people what had happened and they said the first room they were given had feces on the floor. They complained and were given another "clean" room - and when they got there someone had used the toilet and had not flushed (obviously not cleaned). The woman then tried to use the restroom off the lobby and it would not flush.

At that point, I told the desk manager we did not want to stay there based on the above, and he told me we would still have to pay "since the 24 hour cancellation period had passed". We did not stay.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank pj_mcgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We just returned from South Haven and stayed at the Comfort Suites. Previous reviews we read were not so hot, so we kind of reluctantly booked there. We were very pleasantly surprised. Stayed 2 nights and had nothing to complain about. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. It was a suite- had a microwave & little fridge.
The staff was nice and the morning breakfast was plenty- cereal, waffles, boiled eggs, sausage. I don't know about the $200 a night that was referred to. That would be a lot for this hotel. With a AAA discount we paid $107 and it is high season. So it was prefect for that amount.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We checked in early morning Wednesday at a weekday rate of around $139 plus tax. The weekend rate was $189 plus tax ($200.00 after tax) As soon as we walked in we had a sense that things were not what they should be. The outside of the facility looked old and worn out. It was a 90 degree day and the evening was quite warm. Maybe they were trying to save on electricity but it felt as though none of the air conditioners were running. The room temperature on arrival was 88 degrees before we turned on the air. What dissapointed me most about this hotel was the abismal upkeep of the property. The hair dryer was falling off the wall, the walls needed painting, the towels looked old and dirty, the floors were filthy, the TV was something from the 80's. The only thing I could say good about this place was that the staff was friendly. Even the free breakfast was poor quality with dried out doughnuts, no tea (I'm a hot tea drinker) and the boiled eggs looked questionable. On the bright side, the waffle maker worked well and the freshly made waffle tasted good. If you do eat breakfast there, eat early, because the breakfast area was filthy when we got there at 9:30 am (breakfast ends at 10:00). We were booked to stay through the weekend and checked out the next day and moved to the nearby Ramada Inn. Not much better there either and we longed to be able to stay at the Hampton which was totally booked... hmmm I wonder why?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We had a really difficult time getting the ladies at the desk to give us the rate promised to our bride and groom friends. Regardless that we had reserved rooms under the bride and groom's names (as instructed) the desk attendants kept charging us the regular rate, which was $60.00 more. After a half hour at check-in, the ten of us thought we had the matter settled when the manager promised to "fix the bills." Unfortunately, we had the exact problem when we checked out the morning after the wedding. Good thing I had printed all the emails from both the bride and the motel sent a moth earlier. It took another half hour Sunday morning to get the right rate, but now I see on my bank statement that the higher rate was charged. Just called them again and was told it would be fixed, but I'm wondering if I'll have to lodge a complaint with the Michigan Attorney General. I do want to add that the room was vey nice- large, clean and well-light. The breakfast was good, but that is not compensation for the service desk snafu. Check your bill!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOMMAJChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

When we checked in, the "computer was down" and it took over 1/2 hour to get us into a room. Despite our suggestion that we be given rooms based on our printed (and shown to the clerk) reservation confirmation with "check in to follow" we still waited. Rooms are nice with lots of space and great towels and bed. Then, there's the breakfast problem. The hotel had booked in a senior citizen tour bus and when we went down for breakfast, they had completely taken over the breakfast area and were even standing around in the lobby since all the tables were taken. ALL THE FOOD WAS GONE! The seniors had gotten every bite! This was at 7:00am! When we asked the desk clerk about more food, she said that she was calling her "breakfast person" who was not scheduled in until 8:00am but she'd try to get her sooner (!). This despite published breakfast hours that started at 7! Since we had appointments, we could not wait and hurried out to find something to eat. My opinion is that under these circumstances, an adjustment should be made on the bill, but that was not "possible". There are several other hotels in the immediate area. If you see a tour bus in front of this one, keep going!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teds300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
23.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South Haven

Address: 1755 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: $72 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing