We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice addition to S. Haven dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste

Taste
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elmore, OH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice addition to S. Haven dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant on a night when the weather was horrible! Finding parking during the main street construction was a real problem, but when we finally got in, the restaurant was a nice surprise. We each had a martini "up" which was very good, but please note they charge an additional fee for "up". I got the tapa special with shrimp and another one that was Mediteranian. My husband got the Cuban sandwich. All of our food was very good and plentiful. They have many choices in tapas and sandwiches so we will have to go back to sample more. The drink menu is also extensive and prices are pretty standard. Service was prompt and helpful and even on this miserable weather night, the place had a good number of people and yet it wasn't noisy. We are happy to see a new place in this location and hope people will continue to go there as long as the quality stays up!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OHgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    137
    45
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holiday spirit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My girlfriend (Kelly) and I had dinner two nights in a row at this restaurant. Not only was the food excellent, the staff and ambiance was 2nd to none. We look forward to be spreading the news about the establishment and look to come back again to try the many choices of foods on their menu. P.S. Their appetizer for the sesame shrimp sushi is to die for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pappyq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lively small plates spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The owners are trying to elevate the dining options in South Haven and they are doing it nicely. We ordered the signature tomato basil bisque and a crab appetizer. Both were delicious. We also ordered three small plates and because it was before 7 o'clock we received a free side with each small plate. This happy hour perk made it a very reasonable dining experience. Most of our small plates were a hit, the fish tacos, the gyros in wonton wrapper, the ribs were all fresh and nicely plated with high flavor quotient. The sides were inconsistent, twice cooked potato was cold in center, fries were droopy, no green veggie sides offered. We did not order salads. Will definitely give Taste another visit when in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Egrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great new place to eat in South Haven. Original, fresh, good atmosphere. An escape from the chain restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoFastBoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small plates big taste!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Visiting South Haven for a weekend and stepped in Taste for dinner. Great restaurant with lots of options. The four of us chose 8 "small plates" ranging from fish tacos to beet salad to sushi to BBQ ribs. Everything was delightful! With drinks and appetizer it was just shy of $100. Large plates are available and likely less expensive in the long run. Great treat would go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank batgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing