We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're a bibliophile, you'll love Black River Books” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black River Books

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black River Books
Ranked #3 of 9 Shopping in South Haven
Attraction details
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you're a bibliophile, you'll love Black River Books”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A rainy Saturday is the perfect time to go to Black River Books. Located just a block off South Haven's main drag, Black River Books is a friendly, cozy place with something for everyone. Three easy chairs in front near the coffee pot and cookie jar, make it easy to settle in and peruse whatever you choose from the stacks. Booker and Dewey are the 4 legged friends who will gaze forlornly at you while you're enjoying your treat. They are large but friendly. We stayed for a couple of hours and greatly enjoyed chatting with the owners, as well as some other customers who seemed to make regular visits (they bring treats for the dogs and knew their names). A wide selection of books, including a "signed by the author" section, and some rareties, like a first edition "In Cold Blood" by Truman Capote, signed by the author. If you're a bibliophile, you'll love Black River Books.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love Books? Stop Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We recently were in South Haven and stopped into The Black River Book Store. This is our second time visiting the book store...we love it! The owners are warm and friendly and their two labradoodles are great ambassadors of books! It is very clear this couple has a passion for books. There are cozy chairs and light refreshments provided. You can get lost in the many books they have. In this age of the iBooks, Kindles and other readers, it's such a wonderful feeling to touch, smell and open a book. I go in with a definite purpose in mind...finding a signed copy of a book. The first time I found this book store, I bought a John Grisham and this visit a book by Hugh Downs to add to my collection. The owner remembered that I was in a couple years back and knew exactly what I purchased. I will always stop into this book store to browse and buy when I'm in the area....I like to support the independent small book stores and especially this lovely couple. If you are in the area wine tasting, boating or shopping, make sure you plan a visit to Black River Book Store!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, IN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful bookstore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I love used bookstores, and this one did not disappoint. Friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Chairs tucked into corners if you need to sit and relax, read, or browse for a while. Shelves are well-labeled and organized, books are shelved in categories, then in alpha order by last name. I did not find any books that were out of order or in the wrong category. The bookstore has a large selection of first-edition books, and a nice selection of older books, signed books, general fiction, and more. The owners clearly love books, and love to hear where you are from and what kinds of books you like. Conveniently located one block south of Phoenix (the main street for shopping), and close to the beach and lighthouse.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank notdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
240 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great place to enjoy books and meet fellow book lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Wherever we travel, I make it a goal to find and visit independently owned book shops. Black River Books is the type of place that makes me smile when I walk through the door. There were display tables featuring local interest and Great Lakes books, a coffee maker, comfortable seating, shelves stuffed to overflowing, happy browsers and a dignified yet warm greeting from the owners' two large Labradoodles! Once inside, book lovers can spend hours contentedly searching for old and new printed treasures and exchange suggestions with kindred spirits. South Haven attracts vacationers from many areas which adds to the variety of conversations. Thoroughly satisfying!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerTrish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black River Books also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Black River Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing