We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Metro Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Very clean, newer facility. It is not a corporate holiday inn. They have this neat idea, where they do not use bedspreads. They have soft comforters and soft and firm pillows. It was nice not to have to drag the crappy bed spread off the bed. They also give you an extra soft fleece blanket on the bed. The breakfast was really good. The pool is nice and clean. The work out room has 4 decent cardio machines. There is no hot tub or sauna. The internet connection was not that great though. It was intermittent and slow. I heard one guy check in and request the "hard wired" room because he had to work using the internet. But for a vacation stay it is great. It is a short drive from the downtown area. We will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank snappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    66
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
57
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

My wife booked this hotel after checking their website and prices. After checking in, though, we were very disappointed to find the hotel does not have a hot tub as stated on their website. The staff looked perplexed when questioned about the discrepancy, but didn't have web access to check it out. They did, however, refund our money with no problem and an apology for the confusion. We ended up staying across the street at the Hampton Inn, which was much better.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GR_FamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

My family and I stayed here for several nights in August 2006. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. However, unlike many other Holiday Inn Express, this hotel does not offer cookies in the evening nor does it have a business center with Internet access, though it does have wireless service if you bring your own laptop.

Our room had a microwave and small refrigerator. The bedspreads looked very old and should be replaced. The room was quiet but you could hear people walking around on the floor above us. If you stay here request a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel (away from the highway).

The breakfast buffet included cereals, muffins, yogurt, fruit, and waffles. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are available all day.

The pool was nice (with depths of 3 feet to 5 feet) but the water was a bit cold. Our kids still enjoyed it. The hotel is about a five minute drive from downtown South Haven and the beaches. You are within walking distance of Sherman's Dairy Bar, an ice cream store with 40 flavors. A Wal-Mart and gas station and several fast food restaurants are also close by.

  • Liked — close to beaches
  • Disliked — need to replace bed covers
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dadpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2005

We reserved a "mini suite" and were surprised at the spaciousness and cleanliness, as we tend to be fussy travellers. All the staff we had contact with were pleasant and helpful. The easy access to both the freeway and the town/beach were a plus. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2004

I've stayed here many times and it is often the best deal in town for a clean, comfortable room and a decent free breakfast. The staff is usually friendly & helpful (although i have encountered a couple of crabs) and the small pool can be fun....no hot tub though....and as a priority club member i've been surprised by a free upgrade to a mini suite or jacuzzi room more than once.
In the off season an excellent deal....and just 5 minutes from the beaches and quaint town of south haven.

Helpful?
6 Thank flizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
3.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
138 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
179 reviews
15.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Address: 1741 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing