We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay with the Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Illinois
Level Contributor
203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Stay with the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm usually a solo business traveler, but for this go round I was accompanied by the wife and two young kids (3 & 5), on a family vacation.
We arrived on a very rainy Sunday night to an obviously packed hotel. The front desk staff was great - even gave me bottled water and my pick from a "goodie basket" for being a platinum member. Our room was perfect - two queen beds, plus a large area with a desk and pull-out couch on the second floor.
Breakfast every morning was great, alternating between scrambled eggs/bacon & omelets/sausage. It is a lot easier to do it on your own while on business, but a lot more entertaining with two young kids. I'm sure I was quite entertaining to the rest of the guests, running back and forth to the pancake machine for the kids!
The hotel staff was excellent, whether front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, or anyone else. I spend 30+ nights a year in hotels, and very few can claim this level of service. Everyone employed here in July, 2013 give yourself a big pat on the back, you are doing an amazing job.
The property just underwent an extensive renovation in the Spring of 2013 (most of the pictures on Trip Advisor are now out-of-date) and looks brand new. My kids loved this place - they knew their way around by day two, and if they are happy, I'm in heaven. Thank you!
To top it all of, my 4 nights, in a suite, were completely free. IHG has an amazing points program, so if you travel at all, take advantage of it, as it will pay off very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Otowners,

I am thrilled that you and your family were able to enjoy our hotel throughout your entire stay! Thank you for sharing your compliments! I will be sure to pass them along to my entire staff. It was a pleasure accommodating your family while on vacation. Also, thank you for noticing our recent renovations. A lot of hard work went into remodeling our hotel, and I'm happy we can share it with our guests. I'm glad you used your IHG Rewards points to stay in South Haven. Looking forward to your next stay!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    58
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
52
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, great breakfast offerings, not hot tub but the pool is awesome, staff always ready and able to answer questions. Town and beach only a short distance away. Room was spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear GD1962,

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel during your trip to South Haven! Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express! I also want to thank you for your review about our hotel! Your compliments to our hotel and staff are greatly appreciated.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From Check in to Check out Staff was amazing. Room was great. Breakfast was great. Definitely will be back. Only 2 miles to downtown, 5 miles to Gingerman racetrack. Staff was great at suggestions for restaurants and kids activities

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanh50131433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Joanh50131433,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments regarding our hotel and staff! We truly value our guests and strive to be a great hotel that our guests love. Comments like yours are a wonderful reminder as to why we do what we do! On behalf of my entire staff: Thank You!

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very nice stay for couples... The breakfast was great..there was a hotel employee/lady that made sure everything was fresh, clean, and plentiful. Nice work!! I would stay here again we had a great trip and love the town of South Haven as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Harry J,

Thank you for your compliments! I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time, and breakfast, at our hotel! We hope to see you again soon!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

South Haven in the winter isn't the most pleasant of places as it is bitter cold, but we wound up there and this hotel was warm and inviting. The rooms were modern and clean and the front desk staff was pleasant. There was fruit in the lobby 24 hours a day and the warm complimentary breakfast was just what we needed before heading out into the cold.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Kurt R,

Thank you for letting us know about how much you enjoyed your stay! I truly appreciate all of my guests' feedback, and am thrilled you were able to "warm up" at our hotel this Winter. You should definitely come check us out this Summer, and see everything South Haven has to offer!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kevin Christians
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakarusa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I went to South Haven for a short weekend away for our anniversary. My sister recommended the Holiday Inn Express and I am so happy she did. The staff was extremely friendly, the hotel was quiet, and the room was spotless. I am very particular about the cleanliness of hotel rooms and was unable to find anything wrong with the room. The free hot breakfast was also very good with a great deal of variety. We will definitely stay here again! The hotel is right on the highway and very easy to get in and out of.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Lori A,

Happy Belated Anniversary! Also, please offer a big thank you to your sister for the recommendation! We are also very happy you chose to take her advice.

Similar to you, we are very particular about the cleanliness of our hotel and take great pride in the presentation of our property. Thank you for noticing and for your compliments!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Kevin C. helped me plan for 36 senior adults to come for the Tulip Festival. We were given a excellant rate and treated like kings and queens. The staff was excellant and helpful with every question we had. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hester C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hester C,

Thank you so much for the compliments and kind words regarding our property! We were happy to be your host during your visit to the Tulip Time Festival. I'm thrilled to hear that you and your group had such a great time!

Hopefully we will see you again next year, if not sooner!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#7 of 16 in South Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Address: 1741 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing