We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All About Being Irish !”
Review of Biddy Murphy - CLOSED

Biddy Murphy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We deal with Irish companies and their distributors in North America. We’ve visited their factories and facilities in Ireland and these are people that we know personally. Being from Ireland we can offer you the inside track to the authentic Irish products at prices better than most and service that will keep you coming back aris is aris, (ah-reesh is ah-reesh), again and again.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Nice store. Lots of Irish items. Beautiful sweaters. Cost is a little expensive on some items. It's hard to find the place. The sign is on the side of the building instead of on the front of the building. Then you have to walk up 20 steps to get to the store. They have a website where you can order on line instead of going here. But it was nice to see the store.

Thank brenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphman32, Owner at Biddy Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for stopping in. The local ordinances around signage do make it a wee bit difficult I agree and I didn't wan to plaster a nasty sign on the beautiful brick facade.

Because we focus on authentic Irish Made products we will never be able to offer lower cost items but we will always offer the best value and 100% customer satisfaction.

Our retail location has really become a showroom for our best sellers as the vast majority of our custoemrs find us at BiddyMurphy.com

We still love to have you come in and share a Guinness or a glass of wine and have a chat about your connection to Ireland or your travel plans or adventures. Please do drop in again - Slán go fóill - bye for now, Ward -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2016

I like the items in this store, but they are all very expensive for me. The only item that I have been able to buy is a bar of delicious Lavender soap.
Now that the store is on the 2nd floor, I can no longer get there. No elevator.

Thank BubbeSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ward G, Owner at Biddy Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Hi BubbeSuzie, thanks for the review.

We have loads of fantastic value items besides the lavender soaps. Even though "'tis fierce expensive" to get our authentic Irish made goods all the way across the ocean we do provide wonderful value and I'll guarantee you while somebody may beat us by a few pennies on price, nobody will beat us on service and authenticity.

Don't have an elevator? No problem, we will gladly find items for you and get them to you for you to touch and feel and see the fine quality of our authentic Irish Made Goods. Where there's a way there's an Irish will...or something like that. We will even bring the Guinness sample down to you. Drive into the parking lot and we will take care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Biddy Murphy is a very nice Irish shop. It's somewhat hard to find if one doesn't know where it's located. The 2nd floor of Deboer etc Accounting Firm is where it's located. One has to go to the back of the parking lot and enter through the door there. Once inside the small lobby, a door with lots of steps up await one. The attendant from Northern Ireland brogue and all greets you. She is very nice. The attire is truly Irish. It is also somewhat to very expensive.
With that said, I recommend visiting this shop. If you have problems climbing stairs, don't go.

Thank lemonaid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ward G, Owner at Biddy Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Hi Lemonaid

Thank you for the kind comments.

It may seem like a hard slog to make it up the stairs but while it may not be as authentic as going to Ireland, it's certainly less expensive and quicker to get the wee bit of a sense of the Emerald Isle. So come on over again and we will have a Guinness waiting for you; don't mind the stairs - as you say; when they give you lemons make lemonade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2015

Apparently this is only a .com business anymore. There was no storefront business when we went. At least we could find no door, entryway, etc. sign on building said Biddy Murphy .com

3  Thank hoosier504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ward G, Owner at Biddy Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Hi Hoosier,
I'm sorry you couldn't find the door. The main access to the building is from the main parking lot. The awning over the door that said "ENTRANCE" next to the Parking for Biddy Murphy Irish Gifts signs; that's where you will find us!!

Local sign ordinances state that we can only have one business sign on the building; that's the one you saw. Shhhhh...don't mention the parking signs!!

Come on in and we are up the stairs. As a reward for making the extra effort to find us we will have a complimentary Guinness waiting for you as we do all our wonderful friendly folks who come to share stories of Ireland and have "an auld chat".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I love this store! Ward is so engaging you can't help but enjoy your visit to his store. Ahh... the merchandise; you will feel like you have died and gone to Ireland. If you are into all things Irish, this is the place for you. The selection is fantastic, and I know I walked out spending more than I had planned on. In case you do forget something, you can always order online.

2  Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ward G, Owner at Biddy Murphy, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Janine, you talk about "spending more than I planned" like it was some kind of affliction!! We highly encourage that kind of behavior. Come up and have a Guinness with us the next time you're in town. Go raibh maith agat - thank you for the review and kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biddy Murphy also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing