We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parents Watch Your Children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Haven Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park™ Camp-Resort
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Parents Watch Your Children”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I are retirees and not used to being in an extremely busy "kid friendly" campground. While the campground was spotless and so very pleasant during the week in the off season, the weekend was a nightmare for me. We rented the largest space near the edge of the campground. While the campground is on the small side, we thought we would have plenty of personal space for our needs. We were unaware that every weekend in October is Halloween! There were tons of activities for the children and if the parents watched them, all would have been do-able. The campground rents small bikes with flags attached so the children can ride them down the road within the campground. WHAT? The campground has a doggie run area, and I feel they should have a bike path for the children instead of letting them use the main roads. We had two children under the age of 5 along both sides of our front truck tires as we were trying to leave the campground. This was an issue all weekend, and parents seemed oblivious to this. At one time, I counted 7 children enjoying various modes of transportation that kept circling our site for hours. I did not sit outside one time after the arrival of party central as it was not pleasant. Parents, please watch your children at all times before one of them is run over. I know this may put a damper on "your" party plans, but for their safety, please keep them off the main roads of the campground.

Room Tip: Before booking your camping site, ask the staff what activities will be going on in the time frame t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
75
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Facilities are very nice and clean. Pool and pool area were great. Kids loved the banana bikes (fee). Charging extra for jumping on the giant pillow seems crazy to me though. We did not do any of the schedule activites but they had things going on like face painting, bingo etc. There's a pet park, frisbee golf and corn hole. There are no mature trees yet so make sure you bring something for shade if it's sunny. Camp store was small but seemed well stocked. Best part is it 6 miles from South Haven's beautiful beaches! This campground will become apart of the Jellystone francise starting in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a great family campground. Facilities are nice. My in laws had a cabin, it was very clean. They don't let you on your lot or in the cabin early. They told us our lot was full, but when it was 1, and we got our lot we knew it was open the whole time. Same w/ the cabin. Not sure what the big deal is if you want to get on the lot a hour early....Not much shade here either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are so glad we found this gem. The owners Susan & Kyle are the best they thought of everything!

We rented a cabin with a hot tub, our unit was spotless just as described on the campground web site. We did not have a bathroom in our unit (which we knew upon renting). But we were so surprised, there are street lights (dim of course) along the street using the bathroom during the midnight times was fine it was only 60 seconds away on flat grounds plus no need for a flashlight!

There were various flat bikes, games, water wars, jumping pillow, battery operated race cars to mention. Plus a huge swimming pool with a nice deck and lounge chairs along with a fantastic playground area for the kids. Great stay! We are coming back next year & renting a larger unit for just myself & husband I am so excited!! The grounds are so well maintained, the staff is so very friendly. I hate to even submit this review as others will start to find out about this terrific getaway. Also, in all honesty if you are a couple seeking a getaway (been on the road as a sales rep despise hotels/ along with bed & breakfasts) I just want to sit by a campfire, swing on a swing on the porch & enjoy the beauty of Michigan. This camp ground is close to Saugatuck, Holland and Grand Haven there is a lot to do!! Loved it!! I used to tent camp never again these cabins are great! Reserve early great location, friendly staff, camp store has everything that you need including fire wood & fire starters prices are very reasonable plus an espresso bar & café who could ask for anything more?

Room Tip: They have a great site map for you to choose lodging depending on your needs & family size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmnfrontdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Sadly, we had a terrible experience at this campground! The facilities are very nice, well-kept, and clean. There was a lot for the kids to do. BUT, we will never be back! The way they treat their employees is appalling. If I heard Susan, the owner, speak rudely one more time to her employees we were willing to pick up and leave. Every single encounter that we had (including check-in) with the owners had a rude tone to it and made you feel like you were an inconvenience to them. Example: A simple question about where we should park our second vehicle came with a snarky response.

Almost all of the activities cost money. Therefore, for a family with three children, it is very expensive. After paying $45/night, I find this a little ridiculous.

Definitely, would not feel comfortable recommending this campground to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Clean, efficient, family friendly, lots for kids to to here and wished we could have stayed longer. Our cottage had a tv, wifi, separate room with bunks for our boys, bathroom, and dining area with kitchen. We loved it! I would recommend it to others in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We did Cottage 10 and loved it...it has the full kitchenette and bathroom with was so much nicer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We rented the cabin with the loft and hot tub. My family LOVED it. The area is very clean. The cabin had a tv with cable, microwave and mini fridge. It was nice to unwind in the hot tub after a day full of activities with the kids. Just an FYI the water spout is well water so if you are coming stop and pick up drinking water (.88 cents at walmart down the street)or you can buy some in the general store on site for $2.50. The Campgrounds are fairly new so no mature trees so tenters beware summer months are HOT. No shade. The great thing about this campground is it has everything you need for a great family vacation and is very close to downtown south haven. We will definitely will be coming back in the fall for some Halloween fun can't wait. The best part it is dog friendly. They have a dog fenced in area and thank goodness they are strict with the barking. If you plan on doing some downtown fun ie; jet ski's or south/north beach I would suggest Critter Cuts Dog boarding and Grooming right down the street on the way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
329 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
187 reviews
10.3 mi away
Covert-South Haven KOA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Haven Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park™ Camp-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Haven Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park™ Camp-Resort

Property: South Haven Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park™ Camp-Resort
Address: 03403 64th St, South Haven, MI 49090-7309
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in South Haven
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Haven Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park™ Camp-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing