We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”

Sherman's Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional counter service ice cream shop serving all the ice cream delights from cones to sundaes, shakes, and our famous Pig's Dinner. In the peak season we serve over 50 different flavors. Our shop is open March through October. If you are in the South Haven, MI area please stop by and try our delicious ice cream.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sherman's is an icon in the area. The long lines are worth the wait. Servings are LARGE - be prepared. There is service inside or outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    88
    29
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice Cream!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I visited on our honeymoon and considering that Sherman's is the #1 pick in South Haven we had to check it out.

Sherman's has an old-school feel to it when you walk in. You can either get your ice cream, sundae's or cones to-go or sit inside the small sitting area and enjoy with your family and have a cup o'joe on the house.

Our first visit we had a few teenagers that appeared bored and weren't very pleasant and because of the crappy customer service we rated it very good instead of excellent. We tried the seasonal flavor of carrot cake cheesecake in a waffle cone and got simple vanilla in a hot-fudge sundae. Both were delicious, creamy and you can tell they take great care when developing flavors and use all natural ingredients. Real cream, yummmmm!

Our second trip, we had a different set of teenagers that were much more hospitable and even let us try a few samples. The marion county blackberry ice cream is delish, along with the peanut butter cookie dough ice cream, the strawberry and the walnut ice cream. We ended up buying a 1/2 gallon of the Sherman Tracks (like moosetracks, just sherman's brand) to take home.

We were again told that during the summer months that Sherman's gets PACKED and you can wait anywhere from 30-60 minutes to get served, if you're going during this time be prepared.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chanscupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you go to South Haven you have to visit Sherman's. My only problem was that I could not try everything. They have so many flavors and combinations you will have trouble choosing. I had a sampler of 6 different flavors and they were all great. My favorite was the blackberry. Any trip to South Haven should include a stop here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream of Michigan!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

When you walk in you see the blue cow on top of the building! From there you enter and it takes you back into time like a old 70's Ice Cream Parlor. The Selection is great and the Ice Cream is better! could use a little updating and facelift that is it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ethanpulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“You have to go to Sherman's”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It's an older style ice cream shop with lots of choices. Take your time and try a few samples if you are not sure what you want to have that day. It is a perfect place to stop for great ice cream after a day on the Lake Michigan shore on a summer day. It is a regular stop whenever we visit South Haven.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherman's Dairy Bar also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Sherman's Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing