We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Mexican place”

Su Casa Restaurante
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little Mexican place”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I had beef tacos with flour tortillas for lunch. The price was reasonable, but it looks like it jumps up quite a bit for dinner and they up-charge you for flour tortillas as well as cheese. The pico you get with the chips was excellent! The tacos were good, but nothing amazing. I would certainly come back if I am ever craving Mexican in South Haven again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scampers789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    105
    47
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staff very friendly, food less than average”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very personable/friendly and busy on Sat night before Memorial Day. Our group ordered burritos and carne asada. Those that had burritos said had ALOT of beef and not much else and tasted like sloppy joe meat and sauce was probably enchilada sauce from Aldi. The carne asada meat was very grizzly and overcooked with not much flavor. Atmosphere is very loud echoey and line at women's restroom most of night. The service is great and without it the place would probably not last.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Servicegetsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun place, even better food!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fun place, amazing food, the staff was awesome! Everyone was so friendly and charismatic, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was great. The restaurant is decorated to theme, but not cheesy. We did wait a little bit longer than normal for our food, but it was packed that night, so understandable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A comfortable and popular Mexican restaurant in South Haven. We're glad the choices of good restaurants continue to expand. Su Casa provides a fun atmosphere and pleasant Mexican food. Our only criticism was that the food was a little bland. Nothing that a little hot sauce wouldn't have cured, but by the time we thought about asking for some we were pretty much done with our meal. Next time, we'll state our spiciness requirement up front. There WILL be a next time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hidrocarbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great portions, authentic and tequila”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I moved to South Haven from Grand Rapids and have made Su Casa our go to restaurant for nights out. With so many authentic options growing up in GR I was pleased to find a place like this on the lake shore. The menu is large and full of excellent options, the drink menu is pretty good. The tequila list is big enough to meet the need of any tequila drinker yet small enough and diverse enough to make the decision less complicated.
The service is good but beware on busy nights it will likely get a bit slow. The food is always good, and the manager is very friendly. Worth the wait on busy nights, after a nice day at the beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Casa Restaurante also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Su Casa Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing