We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb homemade bread/desserts!”

The Golden Brown Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb homemade bread/desserts!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I absolutely LOVED this bakery! I myself am a self-made baker and appreciate walking in and knowing that this indeed isn't a mock "homemade" bakery. Everything was fresh and the cashier said nothing is out of a box. We went online and got a few coupons; one for a buy one get one 1/2 off any loaf of bread and buy 8 donuts and get 4 free (we're using that one before we leave here). We tried the maple walnut roll and the chocolate covered cream-filled long john (so bad for you but it tasted soooo good)!

I recommend anyone staying out here for vacation to visit and stock up on some delicious homemade bread and sweets. You won't be sorry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chanscupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    39
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This is the place in South Haven for excellent pastries or home down breakfast. Can't go wrong here and the prices are very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Romanlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a great selection”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have never see this volume of selection in such a small town. We stopped in to see South Haven after having moved away over 30 years ago and remember their always being a bakery in that spot. All their products are baked on site. My wife had a blueberry scone and I had a cranberry scone. These were light and puffy, not like your typical scone. It was hard to decide because everything looked so enviting. We sat in the cfe and Te our scones with a cup of coffee and a chai latte. They were so good that we stopped on the way out and bought an eclair and a cheese coffee cake. Oh so good. Don't miss this bakery on your next visit to South Haven.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats and an Awesome Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Perhaps the best bakery in all of Michigan. Worth a trip to South Haven. We had an awesome breakfast and left with several yummy pastries.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cklevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okawville, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“You can't just pass through!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place has a selection that'll please every palet. We had a hard time deciding what to buy - they all looked delicious. And they tasted even better! You'll you'll find a wonderful selection of pastries and employees glad to serve you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Brown Bakery Cafe also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to The Golden Brown Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing