We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful Nights Stay....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Three Rivers
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Restful Nights Stay....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

I chose this hotel since i drove over to south haven in the dark of night when i got off work at 11pm didnt want to head home since i so needed to get away from preasures of life. I took a chance was just going to drive over and see the lighthouse in the dark..(love to do that) when i saw it was close to 1am and getting tired so descided to spend the night here at Old Harbor Inn. I was greated with a smile and nice service. I spoke to the clerk for a bit then asked the cost. i was able to afford one night so i took a room. I was given a room with a very comfortable bed that i sank into and drifted asleep in no time. It is right across from the Hotel Nicholes which i someday would love to stay at. looks so quainte.
Was up and saw the town again in daylight which there is the shop of Day Lilly i always try to go into and peek. The family owns three shops two down town side by side then this one by the hotel. Nice friendly family if you get a chance stop in.
The hotel was very clean and quiet when i stayed on a weeknight. I would recommend this for a family indeed.
thank you,
littlebear

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onemountaintwoclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
36
83
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

If you want to stay in a hotel that hasn't been updated in years and try to sleep through loud obnoxious drunk people then this is the hotel for you. The decor was way out of date and while hopefully clean sure didn't look it since the carpet, couch, and chair were ancient. To top it all off some genius put a bar right in the middle of the hotel. Very early in the morning we were awakened by several groups of very wasted drunk people exiting the bar and being rude for waht would even be accepted by other drunk people. Do yourself a favor and just stay away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Haven hotels

traveling-redhead63
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here for a one night "get away" the first weekend after Labor Day. Hoping the rates would start to be a little lower post-holiday, we ended up still paying around $200 for the night. We chose to stay here so that we could spend the night "playing" around town without worry of driving anywhere. The room was nice, however nothing special other than the view of the river. It was clean and comfortable, but needs a little updating in decor. The plaid wallpaper reminds me of a sofa from the 80s. I understand there are rooms with a jacuzzi but they were already booked... and probably much more expensive. We tend to save up for these types of get-aways and are pretty likely to stay here again. You're definitely paying for location... not as plush as you would typically expect a $200 room to be.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveling-redhead63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Old Harbor Inn has the location going for it and the staff in the reception area was very nice, but short of those positives, the best way of describing this hotel is "adequate". The rooms are OK, but a little bit dated and beat up. The cleaning staff left bags with trash out in the hallway for hours, the doors to the supply room were open at all times (not very sightly). Those things could easily be remedied. The loud music on Friday and Saturday nights, however, was just annoying and I'm not sure what can be done about that. Next time we go to town we'll either try out hotel Nichols accross the street (at least the music shouldn't be as loud), or stay at the Holiday Inn Express by the highway. The Holiday Inn is a little bit cheaper, but includes a warm breakfast in the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Resvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

I read the reviews on the website and thought let's give it a try! For the most part the reviews were pretty positive and we liked the idea that it was close to everything especially with young children. I was worried about the reviews of the loud music so when I called to book the room, I specifically asked about the music. This is what I was told, "You shouldn't have any problem in the room you will be in." So we booked it. Needless to say Fri & Sat night my children (ages 2 & 3) were up til midnight so I don't recommend this hotel for anyone with young children. We were also disappointed with the room. The door to our room was badly battered, the door handle was about to fall off, the kick board was dangerously coming off which we asked to be repaired and it was not. Our friends who also went had the room upstairs to ours and it was much nicer! We paid the same amount and that was very disappointing. I can say it was clean!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momma2josieandjace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

My husband and I spent three days at the Old Harbor Inn and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The room had a small deck with a couple of chairs that overlooked the river, a very comfortable bed, and a small kitchen area. The area could not have been better for us either. We went to South Haven for a long weekend away to just enjoy ourselves, have some fun in the evenings and eat well. We accomplished all we set out to do and the Old Harbor Inn was the perfect location for that. We were withing walking distance of everything. It has a very unusual layout...things are spread out on different levels, but that added to the charm for us. If you are looking for a nice, clean, centrally located place to stay, Old Harbor Inn is it!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fijiwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

was and excellent hotel and the beach and food was wonderful..met the owner of the place and anything we asked for they accomadated us.they even brought us jpatio furniture when i asked for it..i took my 84 yr old father and the room they recommended to mewas awesome and no stairs to climb for my father.we were treated like royalty. so dont hesitate to stay at old harbor inn when taking a vacation to south haven michigan. all i can say go check it out and i will be returning around september to view this area agai n..and of course i will call on old harbor inn to accomadate me...thank you for a wonderful stay...janie from ohio

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwoolace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.9 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbor Inn

Property: Old Harbor Inn
Address: 515 Williams St, South Haven, MI 49090-2513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Harbor Inn is the only lodging property on the waterfront in downtown South Haven. Explore all of South Haven’s attractions, dining, wine tasting,shopping beaches, entertainment venues, parks and more all walking distance. Harbor View rooms have private balconies perched high above the water, with stunning panoramic views. Or choose the value minded Downtown View and Harbor Landing rooms. Also Deluxe Suites with fireplaces and Jacuzzi’s, and some with two bedrooms. At Old Harbor Inn, the views, the attractions, the fun, are all outside your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing