We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTY'S FRIENDS/COUPLE GETAWAY WEEKEND”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2009

It was such a delightful way to spend a very snowy weekend in January. I have been to this B&B before with girlfriends, but this was the first time with my husband for a romantic weekend. Suzanne and David and the staff are outstanding!! They make you feel so welcome! Our room the Victoria was so clean and cozy and inviting! We have already booked for next January!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaisyJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 306 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I literally stumbled across The Carriage House while exploring coastal western Michigan. Suzanne and David, the owners/innkeepers, were so pleasant and accommodating and the inn was so gorgeous that we checked out of our other inn and decided to stay two nights here. Our third floor room, The Troika room, was lovely and cozy with a beautiful bed, gas fireplace, and view of the South Haven harbor. Breakfast was delicious and gourmet, and included scones and Devonshire cream. Since we were there for New Year's Eve, Suzanne and David prepared wonderful appetizers and a candlelit dinner for their guests. Overall, our visit was truly magical and we give The Carriage House our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank igottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Our October stay at the Carriage House was as great as our May stay, and happy to say that we'll be able to include a winter stay now that retirement has arrived. I think we're on our third set of owners, and am happy to state that the quality of accommodations, food, and atmosphere have remained constatnt; tremendous.

We disco vered years ago that we could get to a beach/Ocean atmosphere from Indianapolis by driving 4 hours to South Haven instead of 14 to the Myrtle Beach area, and have been hooked ever since. We noticed the Carriage House on our first trip and booked a night for our next trip; we've been hooked ever since.

Things to expect from the Carriage House: great rooms (my wife could tell you all the different names and the ones she likes best,, but I like them all without knowing the names), great location as you can walk across the street to the beach or look out the back to see the boats in the harbor, great restaurants in the area (hard to pass up Clementines), a breakfast that you're not going to have at home, and, of course, very friendly service.

Looking forward to being able to having more two night stays now that we're enjoying the retirement life.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank retiredbob_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I just wanted to express how wonderful the Carriage House in is.
Twenty-five of my friends and I stayed last weekend and what a great experience. The Inn is absolutely beautiful. Each room is decorated in a beautiful victorian style. The cleanliness and beauty remind one of an expensive European vacation. The owners immediately make you feel at home and from the very moment you enter you are greeted with a warm welcome. The rooms are spotless and the view of the harbor is breath taking.
Most rooms have their own private balcony with rocking chairs which we took advantage of while drinking our morning coffee. The breakfast is scrumptous and presentation out of this world. In the evening they served us yummy hors-d'oeuvres which we all enjoyed. We were able to sit out on the patio and enjoy a campfire that was all set up for us. The owners even had researched all the things we could take advantage of during our stay all within a short distance. The walk to town is about 10 minutes and the shops are quiant. We have stayed at a number of B&B's, but this one is by far the best. This is our third visit here and plan on visiting in January and also next year for our annual bed and breakfast girl's weekend.

Sincerely,

Betty Gillam

Stayed: October 2008
Thank MichiganBettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

25 of us girls rented the whole house together, it was so relaxing and fun. the food was great..the owners were fantastic,very hospitable. see you next year!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kimmyk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We totally enjoyed mid-week stay at Carriage House. Inn is beautifully maintained, and very comfortable. Public access areas well stocked with books, magazines, and videos; with inviting seating areas indoors and out. Our second floor corner room offered great views of park and harbor from private balcony. Very comfortable bed, with high quality linens, including robes.
Upon arrival, owners David & Suzanne provided very gracious welcome, tour of common areas, and list of amenities including shared refrigerator, complimentary beverages, and snacks. They offered helpful suggestions on nearby restaurants, orchards, wineries; and sunset vantage points. Hot breakfast at 9:00 included sausage, home fries, french toast souffle, scone and fresh fruit; all served by Dave. There was self serve coffee and juice available for early risers.
Owners are friendly people who enjoy what they are doing; easy conversation, but not intrusuve. A wonderful experience, and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelbeckons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

This was the first time my husband & I have stayed at a B&B, and it won't be the last, thanks to Suzanne, David, & their fabulous staff! Everything was absolutely wonderful from the warm greeting & tour by David the moment we arrived to the goodbye hugs we shared with David & Suzanne when we left. Always had a hot, delicious & satisfying breakfast at 9AM, yummy snacks during the day & great
hors d'oeuvres at 5PM! The view of the harbor & downtown South Haven was great from the dining room as well from our room, the Dorsay. It was just a quick walk across the street to the beach & a 10-15 min. walk to restaurants/shops in downtown. David & Suzanne always had wonderful suggestions of where to eat, shop or visit in South Haven or nearby towns. Or if you happened to catch a rainy day, as we did, you can always pick a movie from their DVD library or a board game!
My husband & I had a fabulous time at the Carriage House. When we come back to South Haven, we will only stay at the Carriage House at the Harbor!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Boilergrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
7.6 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
17.8 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
16.7 mi away
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing