We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, welcoming staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #3 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent location, welcoming staff”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This B&B is 1block N of the bridge and in easy walking distance to a park, the harbour, the beach, and downtown. The breakfast includes homemade pastries, fresh fruit, and a scuffle type egg dish. Breakfast is served at 9 a.m., which is bit later than I like, but worth the wait. Coffee is available at 7:30 and there are snacks in the early afternoon. Rooms are small but attractively furnished. The Troika room where we stayed overlooks the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour. Parking is tight and limited on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    27
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
209
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I had been here a couple years ago during a particularly stressful time of our lives. Our friends had picked up the tab so we could just focus on regaining strength and going forward. This time we had a whole different attitude, but recalled what brought us back. Gorgeous surroundings, meticulous attention to detail with regard to cleanliness,comfort, and service. The breakfasts were delicious and something one might expect from a visiting gourmet chef. A walk by the boats in the harbor, on the beach, or simply through the park, was enough to relax even the most energetic spirit. Follow that by sipping wine on one's private balcony overlooking the harbor, and you have a perfect ending to a restful day at the Inn. Wonderful, classy, elegant place that I would highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: Look at all of the rooms online. We prefer the rooms with a balcony overlooking the harbor. Some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Take-a-Break-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location, wonderful breakfast and authentic atmosphere. Everything you want from a B&B.
My wife and I stayed here in Summer and enjoyed wonderful sunsets on the beach, easy walk to restaurants and town. Don't hesitate for a perfect weekend anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVelcich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice B&B in S. Haven. Rooms are nicely decorated and this B&B is very clean. Nice, quiet location by the harbor, tucked back on the street near the harbor and a close walk to the Lake to see the gorgeous sunset. Mid-week is a good time to stay since the quietness is peaceful. The breakfast was good and nice presentation. The breakfast room with all the windows is a lovely setting to enjoy your breakfast looking over the harbor area. Overnight stay could have been 100% satisfaction if the temperature of the room had not become warm about 2am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This us a great B&B in Southwest Michigan. We liked it so much that we made reservations for a June anniversary getaway. It is on a harbor and across the street from Lake Michigan.
South Haven has beaches, good restaurants, shopping and a theatre allclose to theCarriage House. Oh, and the Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are good, but a room with a Jacuzzi in the tub is really great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm not the "bed and breakfast" type of person. My husband and I were given the May 3-5, 2013 weekend trip as a birthday present. The bed was very comfortable, the food was fabulous, and the people who run the property were very efficient and kind. If you want privacy, you can get it.

I wasn't expecting the beautiful location. You can look out your window at big boats in the harbor or walk one block and be on the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan. We went to the beach for a sunset and glass of wine but forgot the corkscrew. It literally took my husband 3 minutes to go back to the b & b and get the corkscrew. The location was such an amazing surprise. Loved our weekend there!!

Room Tip: You don't even have to bring games, wine glasses, corkscrew, etc.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacati0nGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDERSON, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we loved it! The Carriage House is beautiful, comfortable and accommodating to all our needs. The breakfast was incredible. The house overlooks the harbor and is just a few minutes from town and the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better time!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the White Chapel room. It was spacious, comfortable bed and had a great spa tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISLYN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
142 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Property: Carriage House at the Harbor
Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing