We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On an adventure...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I came to the Carriage House by myself on a mini retreat. It was fab! I searched on TripAdvisor beforehand to get some recommendations for B&B's and this one ended up on top of my list. I took advantage of the winter special ($140/night for any room). From the moment I arrived the Inn Keeper, Amy, was such a doll! This was my first time staying in a B&B and I will definitely recommend this place AND will be coming back with my boyfriend next time! I stayed for 3 days and had the best adventure yet! I chose to stay in the Dorsey Room (so cute and charming, perfect for one person). Its on the top floor so the noise level was very minimal, I didn't have to worry about others making noise above me. The bed was super comfortable, not to hard or soft just right. Breakfast was AMAZING...Amy, you know how to cook girl! I like the setting of how breakfast was set up...since I was alone I sat with a very nice couple who ironically didn't live that far away from where I live in the Chicagoland area, mingling is nice.
Anywho...the owners of the Carriage House were so sweet and knew the area of South Haven and Saugutak very well...they recommended some great places for me to go visit during my stay. Because i visited during the winter months not many places were open BUT I didn't care because I got to see the Lighthouse! This is a must an as an aspiring photographer this made my trip! I'll be back but during summer, :)!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dclement04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 306 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I had a simply awesome time here for 3 nights. David and Amy treated us like family and when you stay at a B & B thats how you want to be treated. Breakfasts were very nice and we met many other travelers. We hope to get back in the summer and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshallreamesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful winter getaway at the Carriage House B & B. Everything was perfect. The room was so comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was fantastic. The location is perfect. And the hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Wonderful view from our room of the harbor. South Haven is such a great little town, but shhhhhh.... Don't tell anyone. I can't say enough good things about the Carriage House and the town of South Haven.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjonesgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of the Carriage House's January special ($140 per night for any room) and enjoyed a winter weekend getaway. With cozy common areas and rooms, it's just as enjoyable in the winter as during the summer months. The location is excellent and you can walk into town or to the beach. Breakfast is served at 9am and is delicious-- it's more than enough food and is gourmet in nature. They also ofter afternoon cookies and popcorn. For a bed and breakfast, we thought our room with a king size bed was very spacious. My suggestion: book a room on the second or third floor. We stayed on the first floor and were awakened early both mornings by people walking around above us. The Carriage House at the Harbor is a wonderful place to stay and we'll be back again!

Room Tip: Consider a room on the second or third floor so that you don't hear others above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerBlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just returned from our second visit to the Carriage House, and have enjoyed it both times. We definitely will return again, and can highly recommend the accomodations, food and service. Great view of the the water and boats at the docks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our room was comfortable and cozy. The downtown area and beach are within walking distance.
David served us breakfast and lots of interesting conversation in the morning.We enjoy South Haven in the fall and our stay here began and ended 2 very nice days in Michigan.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. It is definitely the best view in the South Haven area based on the other properties we saw. We had a very nice stay. The owners weren't really around much and it seems they have hired someone else to take care of the day to day responsibilities. That was a little disappointing since we had read such great reviews about the owners. Nothing really bad to say about our stay, but we weren't blown away by the accommodations. Everything was comfortable and well kept. I think we were just expecting more based on all the rave reviews. You can't go wrong staying here, but not sure the price is indicative of the accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyena531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
226 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
0 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing