We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend surprise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

An amazing surprise get-a-way weekend! Perfect southern michigna hospitality and the breakfast was wonderful! Looking forward to our next stay! Our room hosted beautiful views of the harbor, a wonderful jucuzzi bath, a king size poster bed! This early spring surprise was PERFECT!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 303 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've been coming to the Carriage House every January for the past 4 years and always look forward to a wonderful weekend break. The location along Lake Michigan is beautiful whether you´re visiting in the middle of winter, like we do, or in the summer. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and very inviting. Dave and Suzanne are tops at serving as host/hostess - always making us feel welcome and very special. Nothing bad to say about the place. I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We are from Utah and our favorite B&B is in Park City. After moving to Chicago we looked for something that would rival it nearby....we found it at the Carriage House! It was an excellent weekend. Not only did this B&B rival it, it topped it! The view out onto the Harbor was fabulous, the breakfast was the best we've ever had at a B&B and the B&B was clean, quiet and relaxing. David and Suzanne were great and had wonderful suggestions for dinner and things to do. If you go, definitely take the drive to Douglas to eat at Everyday People Cafe. South Haven is a beautiful little community. Walking down the pier and through the shops was so relaxing. We can't wait to go back to Carriage House at the Harbor!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Everything about our stay was wonderful. The inn in beautiful. We stayed in the Concord room; beautifully decorated, fireplace and hot tub. The breakfasts are unbelievable; the food is just delicious. David and Suzanne are gracious hosts and very helpful when it comes to suggesting restaurants, things to do, directions to places, etc. It's a great place to get away and just relax.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I have never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before, but after this stay, I am not sure our experience could be topped! The room was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and the view was amazing! David and Suzanne are so knowledgeable about the area it is like having your own built in tour guide! This is a MUST stay for anyone wanting that perfect, romantic get-away. The gormet breakfast and smooth coffee starts your day in their breath-taking dining room overlooking the harbor. Then get ready to wind your day up with home-made cookies that hit the spot. The extra touches, amenities and hospitality makes this the best stay in town. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room with a balcony! It is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartzJodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

After years of trying my wife got me to a B & B; it was a grand experience. David and Suzanne are gracious host and hostess. The breakfast are out of this world. South Haven is one of our favorite places and now we have another reason to vacation here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elder73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is still a favorite of ours to getaway for a few days. The inn is very cozy, comfortable and clean. The location couldn't be any better being right across from the beach and a five minute walk into town. The owners are very accomodating and treat us just like family coming for a visit. The morning breakfast is delicious. My only complaint is they don't share the recipes! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Haven hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Last Resort B & B Inn
The Last Resort B & B Inn
#6 of 16 in South Haven
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
7.6 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman St, South Haven, MI 49090-1142
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing