We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I'll start with the good. The location is great - it is about 5-10 minute walk to downtown and about a 5 minute walk to the beach (the smaller beach). The decor was a bit outdated, but it was still very charming and it was immaculate. The breakfast and late afternoon snacks were good. It was also very close to Uncle Lou's bar and restaurant which was very fun!

I wasn't overly thrilled with the staff, but they were all plesant enough. The pillows were awful. If you come to this b&b bring your own pillow. I had a sore neck from sleeping on their pillows. For some reason the air was not working that well in our room and it was a little warm the second night. The first night was fine though, so I assume this was an isolated incident.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    15
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
117
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicgo
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I recently stayed in a B&B in Union Pier which had neither a warm friendly atmosphere nor terrific hosts. I was reminded of my wonderful stay at Inn at the Park last October. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding and the hosts (and staff) were charming, friendly, smiling, helpful! I loved the place and will stay there again if I return to South Haven.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2009

This was my husbands and I first stay at a B & B. I have to say when we arrived they hadchocolate covered strawberrys in our room with beautiful red roses!! When I walked into the entrance of the main part of the B&B it was a very huge WOW factor. The rooms are very beautiful, & romantic. We had or'durvers, a wonderful 5 course dinner that was included with our stay and breakfast was just as awesome as dinner... and they topped it off for the night with bedtime cookies. The innkeepers Jerry & Carol Ann are so in touch with running this inn. They are a part of what made this trip so wonderful. They made us feel so very welcome and it has a "Homey" feeling. This is exactly what we needed was a getaway weekend to just rejuvante. We have made our reservations to go back in April and I cannot wait for the dinner again. Anyone who is looking for an awesome place to say with innkeppers that are very caring & wonderful people please check this place out... I totally feel in love with this place...
Thank you Jerry & Carol Ann for a Wonderful Weekend

  • Liked — The innkeepers, Breakfast & Dinner , the rooms,
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay longer
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
By the lake in Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

The quality is definitely slipping at this charming inn. We have stayed here quite a few times, and this last time was a disappointment. I'm not sure if the new owners are quite right for this type of business. For the price of the room, the amenities are atocious. Toilet paper was like a low priced motel (thin and scratchy - ), bathroom sink was so high, it was difficult to brush your teeth, plenty of video's to watch, but no VCR in our room!! They used to have an hour of snack time, which was decreased to 1/2 hour, snacks decreased in quality (used to be yummy chocolate covered strawberries) no fresh baked cookies, staff seemed to be husband and wife who I don't think really wanted to be there. Not very friendly. It's too bad, as the inn is lovely, the rooms are very pretty and the location is nice. I know times are tough, so when customers book at the inn, can we at least have decent toilet paper, make sure the VCR is in the room, and appreciate people who WANT to come there in this economy??

  • Liked — Rooms are very nice
  • Disliked — Toilet paper! Unfriendly hosts.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Antiquelover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2008

When my boyfriend and I booked this Bed and Breakfast we didn't really think about possible weather condition problems. The day that we were to arrive, a big snow storm hit the area. This caused our arrival time to be well outside the 3 o'clock time frame. The innkeepers did their best to help us with directions, alternative routes, and updates on the weather. We were called throughout the night to make sure we were still on our way. We were some of the only guests staying there that night, due to our late arrive our breakfast time was pushed back as well. It was great to take out time getting up in the morning when we were ready to instead of setting an alarm and rushing to breakfast at 9 am. I loved the room that we stayed in and will be returning. I felt welcomed and was able to talk with the owners in the morning. They opened all of the doors to each room and let us explore around the rooms on our own. It was great. The breakfast was well prepared and enjoyable. I was really happy with my stay and we will return again in the future.

  • Liked — The room was perfect, the staff was great and the food was excellent!
  • Disliked — Not havin enough time to spend there due to the weather
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2008

The Inn at the Park in South Haven, Mi is absolutely wonderful!!!! From its charming decor and fireplaces galore -- one in EVERY guest room - (wow!) this place is a true gem!!! The owners -- Carol Ann and Jerry are so warm and inviting and we look forward to coming back as often as possible. Carol Ann is an excellent cook and the breakfasts are better than in a 5-star restaurant! In the evening there is a chance to mingle with your fellow guests over Carol Ann's delicious appetizers and they offer several local wines that are excellent. RUN -- don't walk to the Inn at the Park in South Haven -- it's definitely worth the visit!!!!! A+!!

  • Liked — The owners, the food and the rooms!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilesNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Inn at the Park B&B is a gem located on the Southeast Lake Michigan shore. Friends recommended this B&B to us and urged us to make the 2-hour drive from Chicago to South Haven and spend an evening at this charming B&B. The Innkeeper, Carol Ann, was very hospitable and the ultimate hostess. The 5:30 wine/appetizer hour was an unexpected treat and the breakfast was gourmet quality

We found our room to be extremely comfortable and quiet. The setting of this guesthouse is tranquil and within walking distance to some nice restaurants and the lakeshore. We had intended to stay for one night and ended up staying for three!

The Inn at the Park is well located to Saugatuck and a number of SE Michigan wineries. We enjoyed a day of wine tasting within an hour of South Haven and capped off our day with a late lunch overlooking the vineyard at Tabor Hill Winery. We were told that the Tabor Hill demi sec wine has been served in the White House since Gerald Ford’s days as President and is their bestseller. We were equally impressed with the Round Barn winery. We spent a second day in Saugatuck shopping and visiting the fine galleries.

During our short stay, it was nice to have the Inn at the Park as our home base and would not hesitate to recommend this fine B&B to anyone who is interested in comfortable, clean, hospitable, well-located and affordable accommodations.

Pat & Steve
Georgia

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roswellresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
191 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast

Property: Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Address: 233 Dyckman Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1006
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious South Haven bed and breakfast located just steps from downtown and the harbor, and a block from Lake Michigan. Elegantly appointed rooms, delectable full breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres and gracious hospitality. All nine spacious rooms have fireplaces, and some have soothing whirlpool baths. Small meetings and retreats welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Bed And Breakfast
Inn At The Park Bed & Breakfast Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing