We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable room, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This Inn is physically attractive from the outside and within. There are some changes that need to be made to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The manager is the owner. Although friendly enough, it is clear she doesn't really want to be in the innkeeper business. Specifics that I didn't like include: kleenex that felt like sandpaper, toiletries that were Motel 6 quality, breakfasts that were high in fat and carbohydrates, afternoon pre-dinner snack that lasted from only 5pm until 530pm, which included a "splash of wine", evening cookies that had a sign, "one per guest". It would be much better to eliminate these post breakfast services and and work on giving some semi healthy breakfast options and giving better amenities in the room. I would expect much more from an Inn that cost $260/night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ant9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

We had a nice stay at the Inn. Loved the warm reception from the Inn staff. The rooms were clean. But the one big negative about our stay was our bathroom. While spacious and immaculate, the doors were french doors with thin lace. So there was no privacy. I could see my husband's knees sticking out from the toilet from our bed. There was no way around it, other than to leave the room while the other was using the toilet. Maybe we're prudes, but it kind of killed the romance. I'm not sure if all the rooms are like this, but this is just a warning to ASK. I have never heard of see-through bathrooms before, but now I know to ask!

Also, breakfast was served late and in a narrow time frame 9-9:30.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at the Inn this past weekend and I wanted to share our experience and overall rating. The Inn is lovely. I would describe it as quaint. The owner is very nice and doesn't get too involved in your business as I've seen reported by other places. They offer a decent breakfast in the morning and the afternoon appetizers were quite nice, served with a sampling of wine. The only downside to the rooms were the toiletries, They were pretty standard, as you would find in a cheaper motel. We travel quite often so we are usually prepared with tissue, etc. This was our first time staying at a B&B and I'm not sure if it's for us but if it is, we would go back to Inn at the Park. The view from the dining area was really nice.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Northside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I cannot say enough good things about this B & B!! Home is beautiful, everyone there is very friendly and helpful, you will feel at home here!! Within walking distance to beach, downtown and great shopping and restaurants. Book it!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

My husband and I were given a gift certificate as a wedding gift to stay at the Inn at the Park. We have never been to a B&B before so we were a bit reluctant but have an adventurous spirit. We also did our homework and looked at the website, asked questions, and read the comments on this page. The minute we walked thru the door we were surronded with aromas from the kitchen. The staff was the best..from check in all the way to check out. They helped with every detail from what to do, where to eat, to just plain good conversation. Carol Ann, who is the new owner, was obviously loving her new endeavor and making our stay the best we could have asked for. The evening appetizers were a culinary delight. How could you not have a wonderful time here? We'll be back...again and again

Stayed: July 2007
Thank mjvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

My husband and I had a very relaxing stay at the inn. It was nicely decorated and the staff was very accommodating. However, we ran into a snag when we asked about their June $30 Gas Special advertised on their web site. The owner claimed in a phone conversation that we had to mention the special at booking ( even though that was not stated in the internet ad). She said the home page stated that restrictions may apply. It does not appear on that page. At the bottom of their room availability page, it states, "Advertised specials may state 'some restrictions may apply' ". There was no such statement on the specials page. Trying to point that out to the owner was not easy. She was adamant that we were supposed to ask for it at booking. If her ad had said that, we would have complied. Her solution was to offer the gas special to us on our next booking. That will not happen as there are many other beautiful places to stay on our next visit to South Haven.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank jonzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

I took my wife to The Inn at the Park for our 15th anniversary. When I called to make reservations Ally was the innkeeper and was just wonderful to work with. She explained the rooms available for the two nights we wanted to stay there. We booked the Aspen room. She made reservations for us at two wonderful restaurants, and scheduled two of the best massages we’ve ever had, with Cindy in a special room they have at the inn. When we arrived Charleen took care of us, checked us in and showed us around. She was just getting ready to put the food away in the pub (which they provide every night from 5:30 to 6:30) but told us to take our time, get settled and come down and enjoy. We took a couple minutes to get settled in and went down and got a plate of food while Charleen got us each a glass of wine. Talk about starting out a great romantic getaway. The breakfast both mornings were very nice. Judy was the innkeeper both mornings we were there, and just helped us anyway she could. Everyone was so nice and helpful we just felt so comfortable to do whatever we wanted. They have a nice selection of movies you can take to your room to watch if your so inclined. Very clean, thanks to the cleaning staff. Wow, I can’t say enough.

The inn is located right across the street from a nice little park. About two blocks to the shops and downtown.

Perfect Inn, Perfect People, Perfect Location.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CoolPeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
193 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast

Address: 233 Dyckman Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1006
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range: $180 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious South Haven bed and breakfast located just steps from downtown and the harbor, and a block from Lake Michigan. Elegantly appointed rooms, delectable full breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres and gracious hospitality. All nine spacious rooms have fireplaces, and some have soothing whirlpool baths. Small meetings and retreats welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Bed And Breakfast
Inn At The Park Bed & Breakfast Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing