We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in the Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portage, Michigan
1 review
“Paradise in the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Inn. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family by Carol Ann and the food and accommodates are outstanding! Perfect location, and definitely will be scheduling a return visit with our family for next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    14
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
104
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We are utterly baffled by the attitude and lack of professionalism when even attempting to make a reseveration with The Inn at the Park Bed and Breakfast. The owner Carol Ann was extremely rude to us in regards to making a reservation when she learned that we would be using a Living Social coupon. She tried to tell us that the fine print stated rules that it did not. She appears to be very bothered by us "Living Social users", although she is the owner of the Bed and Breakfast and set up the deal with Living Social. There were several phone conversations within the course of a few hours, just in attempt to make a reservation in between her very rude and snooty attitdue. We were even told that the issue was "merely a business decision in the best interest of the full paying customers." In the end, we were told that we were not allowed to make a reservation with the Inn at the Park based on questioning such rudeness and our confusion of why from the beginning we were given such attitude and discrimination. Utterly in awe of such poor service and lack of professionalism. Our recommendation - DO NOT even bother with this place!!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We found this gem through a recent Living Social deal and didn't quite know what to expect. We were very pleased with the B&B! Carol Ann greeted us warmly and showed us around. She then retreated to let us create our own experience. The Inn was quiet, even though it was full and there are many places and spaces to explore. Breakfast each morning was delicious and creative. We would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nballantyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay - enjoyable from the moment we arrived. The accommodations were beautiful, the food was great and the owners and staff were very helpful and fun-loving. The location was great - a short walk to the beach, river and quaint shops/restaurants. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magree250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

This was my first bed and breakfast experience. First, I found a great special on living social. Prior to my trip, Carol contacted me via email and we spoke on phone to finalize the finishing touch. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with the fresh aroma of brownies and a vibrant hostess, Carol. Each morning we were presented with an elegant and fulfilling breakfast along with a bubbly staff. In addition, there was always baked homemade goodies. Hint: I suggested that she open up a bakery on site. In regards to the room, the magnolia was the perfect get away for us. Clean, modern, comfortable, and spacious. My hubby and plan to return in July.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phenomenalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Gracious hostess, lovely rooms, delicious food. A++

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed there over a long weekend, our first time in South Haven, and loved the location of the B&B. It's just 1 block away from the lake and 2-3 blocks away from the downtown area. We could walk to everything - our car did not leave the B&B parking lot. We stayed in the Hawthorn room, which we chose because it was the only room with a balcony. The room was nice, cozy and clean, but not necessarily high end for the price we paid, however the balcony did make up for that as we made very good use of it. As for the poor customer service, it started with my first call asking about the place. I got the feeling I was inconveniencing them with all my questions, and almost decided against them, but in the end chose them based on location and accommodations. Breakfast was ok - they served quiche both days. The thing that really made me feel unwelcome was when I wanted to use the Tassimo coffee maker that they provide in the bar area. They brew regular coffee in the morning, but I wanted flavored coffee. The first morning when I asked to use it, the response was, "do you have to have it?". They reluctantly let me use it. Then the next morning when I used it, I was given funny looks by the staff, then I was referred to as the "special coffee lady" at breakfast. I was given no reason whey they didn't want the coffee machine used. It may seem like a small thing, but that made me feel very uncomfortable, and I will not stay there again. I want to stay somewhere that is accommodating with a polite staff that makes you feel welcome. The only reason I rated the service "poor" instead of "terrible" is because the woman that checked us in and gave us a tour was polite and professional and wasn't one of the staff that gave me grief over the coffee machine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpCoffeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
SpCoffeLady,
I am so sorry that you were made to feel uncomfortable. If it was me who made you feel this way, I sincerely apologize. We work SO very hard to make everyone's stay here as perfect as possible and have very few complaints.All of our amenities are available ALL of the time so there is absolutely NO reason why you wouldn't be able to have flavored coffee. If you come and stay again, please let me know so we can make sure to meet all of your needs.

I read that you will never come back again, but certainly whatever business you are in, you would ask for a chance to make things right, wouldn't you? So are we. Our business is hospitality and want to live up to the highest standard. Maybe you could give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
2.1 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast

Property: Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast
Address: 233 Dyckman Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1006
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious South Haven bed and breakfast located just steps from downtown and the harbor, and a block from Lake Michigan. Elegantly appointed rooms, delectable full breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres and gracious hospitality. All nine spacious rooms have fireplaces, and some have soothing whirlpool baths. Small meetings and retreats welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Park Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Bed & Breakfast Hotel South Haven
Inn At The Park Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing