We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel/Cabins--NOT an Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Nebraska
Level Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Motel/Cabins--NOT an Inn”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is NOT an Inn, it is an old motel they have added to 20 and 25 years ago on a property that has a ground space overlooking Lake Michigan that can be used for family gatherings, weddings, and parties.

The draw to this place are the grounds. They are not as large as their website makes you think, but if you place your tent or settings strategically you can accommodate many people for your gathering.
They require you to rent rooms to have your party on their property. Saturday night party : $500 to use the grounds PLUS rental of a minimum of 40 rooms. If you have a party in the summer months, you are required to pay for all 52 rooms. The 40 rooms you have to pay for are all of the highest price rooms plus a handful of the lower priced rooms , for an average of $200 per room per night. That makes renting the grounds at a price of around $10,000 for a 1 day party, and in the summer around $14,000 (unless the prices are higher than I was told for the rooms).

As for the rooms. Like I said Motel or Cabin quality. The best of the bunch were the rooms in the 3 story building built 20 years ago. There is another building with similar rooms to the 3 story building rooms and was renovated about 25 years ago. Did anyone say PINK???? This building has pink tiles when you enter, around the fireplace and the carpet has pink accents in the design. They rent for around $250 to $270 per night. Handicap rooms not up to the new ADA rules as they are 20 years old.
The second and third story rooms had great views, I will give them that, with chairs on the decks for those with rooms by them.

DO NOT stay in the rooms # 30-45 if you have any allergies. They try to cover the old and musty odors with perfume sprays and it is strong. These are in the 1 story building when you first enter the property and rent for around $100.
The next row of 1 story rooms, have sizes from a studio to a full suite, and have a very strong odor of OLD. 70's anyone? Not sure of the room numbers but were around #10? We toured a full suite that had been cleaned but sitting empty. I believe these rent for close to $300 per night. It would be nice to have the stove and full refrigerator, but who could handle the smell?
The rooms above the office are called suites. One & 2 bedrooms with Kitchenettes.These were priced around the $250 to $300 price and old.

They have these amateur looking picture boards on the property that I think are suppose to draw children, but seem out of place with a Lake property. The pools were dirty and they are uncovered and outdoors.

The Recreation room is, I think, A converted garage. Cement floor with pressed board used for the walls. If this was by a sandy area, beach or campground, I could understand the unfinished room.

The Office/Reception/Office area was pleasant, but small. It will only accommodate 24 people at a time. With 52 rooms and most of them double or triple sleeping accommodations, there is not enough room for even half the guests at one time to have breakfast.

We were told that there have been no updates or changes in more than 3 years and possibly since the remodel 20 years ago. There are many odors from not being taken care of properly or updated. Yes, its by a Lake but many vacation spots are and don't have these odors.

The neighbor hood has a mixture of homes. Some are fairly new with beautiful landscaping. We saw many on our 3 mile drive to the quaint town of South Haven. Loved the town.

Yes, I believe what everyone has said in their reviews.
If you are used to campground cabins you will probably like these.They do have some really bad rooms, many so-so rooms and a few okay rooms. If you are used to 1 and 2 star hotels, you might think this place is great as it is for those with low expectations.

I feel they are priced pretty high for what they are offering. The Owners evidently do not have any money to update the property and are hoping to keep going on in the same way for the years to come.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 3 story building are their newest & best. Not all the jacuzzi rooms are the new one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoothcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    56
    25
    28
    26
See reviews for
70
80
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed at this Inn last weekend for our annual girls weekend. The grounds on the resort are beautiful. You are right on the lake. The rooms we stayed in however were terrible. They had a very musty, mildew odor uopon arrival. The floor going from the room to the bathrooms had over a 1 inch gap. Could be a safety hazard. The towels were once maybe white, were old and stained. The bathrooms had absolutely no counter space and very little clothes hanging room. The pillows were hard and lumpy. The shower curtain was also mildewed.
We would have tried for a different hotel, but with it being Labor Day weekend, there was nothing else available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryB773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Haven hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were married in South Haven & stayed at Lake Bluff Inn. After reading reviews for this Inn I was a little nervous. WOW - a lot of wasted energy!

Lake Bluff was GREAT! It not only fit our budget but it was clean! Great help from staff when needed but respected our privacy too- nice on a honeymoon! The Studio was the perfect size, great water pressure in the shower, all appliances were perfectly clean!

Pools were clean, relaxing and overlook Lake Michigan. There are stairs that go down one side of the bluff with a gorgeous sunset view. Lots of outdoor space! Close to anywhere you'd want to go.

Daily breakfast was perfect - game room had a great pinball machine too!
DO NOT let any of the negative reviews keep you from staying here... this is a great place and we will be staying here again soon.

Room Tip: The Studio is the perfect size for two... or two adults + a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I thought all of the negative reviews for this place were pretty extreme! The property is beautiful and the room that we had was fine...no awful smells or anything. I do agree that it could use some updating, but this place is a great place for families to hang out outside, grill, and watch some beautiful sunsets. The pool was nice and the breakfast too. If you're looking for something upscale, I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nigel0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan,il
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Don't know how this place stays in business. People are so rude, rooms smell and dirty.
Its a shame cause the view and property are beautiful. Needs total renovation and new owners that know customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rebmanhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Buyer beware! They don't give refunds after 2 weeks before check-in, so, if you go there and find your room smells strongly (I thought possibly mold), as I did, they'll still try to keep your money. Other problems, in addition to the overpowering odor: abrasive staff (when they even bothered to look up to acknowledge you were in the room), low-security rooms in exposed cottages, no nearby convenience stores, restaurants etc. Website is deceptive. Avoid!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skeep028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I'm not a fan. When we first stepped in my wife immediately noticed the smell of mildew in the room. We were hoping it was just a smell (it was not strong and we got used to it quickly) but then the wife had to take an antihistamine in the middle of the night because she was having some sort of allergic reaction to something in the room (we suspect mildew because we didn't have any problem any other time on the trip while outdoors.

The decor was very odd as well. Granite counter top in the mini kitchen but super low end carpeting and sheets. The towels in our room had the name of the hotel stamped on them in permanent ink in a prominent not real classy "Don't steal me" kind of way.

And the most unforgivable thing in my opinion was the complete lack of sound insulation. The wife and I were watching some TV around midnight at a very reasonable volume when we received some very loud bangs on our shared wall with the next room apparently indicated we were being too loud. This was later confirmed by the conversations that we could hear through the wall (that they were having in a normal speaking voice) the following morning.

For what I paid for a room I would expect a hotel room of higher caliber. Indeed, our room seemed to have more in common with very nicely renovated shed. If anyone else I know gets married there we'll stay someplace else.

(Great view though)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bitsrboolean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
143 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
189 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Bluff Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

Property: Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Address: 76648 11th Ave, South Haven, MI 49090-1651
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Bluff Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Bluff Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Bluff Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing