We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great view!”

HawksHead Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: HawksHead is known for it's amazing cuisine, peaceful setting, and lovely golf course. We are only 7-10 minutes from downtown South Haven, but it feels like miles away. It's a world away from all the hustle and bustle and gives you that special place to relax and unwind.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful steak salad for a Sunday afternoon lunch while overlooking the ravine in spring. Service was excellent! I thought the decor was just slightly a bit tired looking, but overall, I would come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jwil325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksHead18, General Manager at HawksHead Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and thank you for the decor suggestions we are always looking to improve from the service to the food to our overall design. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 197 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food was phenomenal! We did not go away unsatisfied! We highly recommend the new menu options--especially the grilled avocado salad! We will be back, and it is a 2 hour drive for us! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksHead18, General Manager at HawksHead Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review! We greatly appreciate all of our guests near and far!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our fine dining night out at HawksHead last weekend. We were on a getaway to South Haven and really enjoy this beautiful restaurant. I had the Bluegill and my wife had the Pike, both had mashed sweet potatoes, we split a salad, and each had a drink. The price was reasonable and the meal was great. Service is always friendly (but sometimes a little slow), but hey, this was our big event for the evening (followed by viewing the sunset). We look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hidrocarbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksHead18, General Manager at HawksHead Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us at HawksHead, if you enjoyed our fish dishes from the everyday menu please keep in touch. We feature a number of daily catch entrees all throughout the summer! Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A marvelous dining experience, the food was very tasty and unique. Not inexpensive but well worth the trip to the Inn.

2  Thank Traveler54_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksHead18, General Manager at HawksHead Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are very pleased to announce that our Spring/Summer menus are available at this time. More than half of our lunch menu is priced at $10 or lower and our dinner menu has a number of entrees in the $12-$17 range. We hope to see you out again at HawksHead soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hawkshead Inn for Valentine’s Day. What a great choice for a special getaway. All the staff was friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in the front door. We stayed in room #1, the Arthur Hills room that was very large, had a fireplace (electric insert) and best of all – two large windows overlooking the woods. Breakfast delivered to our room was included in the room price.

Valentine’s dinner in their restaurant was romantic and although every table appeared to be full, service was attentive. My wife had the Boom Shrimp and loved them. I had the Drunken Duck with raspberry & pecan sauce and was pleasantly surprised at how crispy the skin was yet lots of moist the duck meat.

Would love to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay-bird509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksHead18, General Manager at HawksHead Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us this Valentine's Day. I am glad you had such a great time with us here at HawksHead, we truly appreciate getting to know each and every one of our guests. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HawksHead Restaurant also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to HawksHead Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing