We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother and daughter getaway (we came back)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foothills Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Mooroolbark B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Well we had such a fun time once again at this lovely Foothills place! Lots of great laughter and food once again was just excellent! We met a lovely couple Rick & Susan who we played tennis with and had a great sing-a-long with on the Saturday nights entertainment called "Diamond & Boots", they sang very well and even sang songs we requested! Was a very fun night had by all....

We drove to Marysville on the Saturday and it was so lovely to see everything growing back after the 2009 Black Saturday fires and we saw "Brunos Sculpture Gardens" which absolutely took our breath away! Beautiful town with beautiful caring people running all the shops & businesses!

The Foothills Conference Centre is a perfect location and there are sooooo many sights to see surrounding this hotel, we still haven't seen everything and have been twice! We are declaring it our mother/daughter place to visit each year! Also, the staff are brilliant and very happy to chat and keep us entertained too....many laughs with Debbie once again!

Thanks for a lovely stay to all the staff and as Arnold Schwarnzegger says "We'll be back"....

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sharyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hi there, we have just come back from having a lovely weekend at this conference centre. Normally about $530 for the two nights, we paid $229 and got 2 nights accommodation plus drinks and fingerfood on the first night, and dinner on the second night. Also a full cooked breakfast on the two mornings. We were pampered and looked after very well. Swam on two days in their very large wonderful swimming pool. Not mentioned on line in the deal, but well worth swimming in. Rooms are large and spacious and the bed was 2 doubles put together and was huge! Very very happy with this deal. Well worth taking. it had to be taken on friday and saturday night. We wouldnt mind going back. Lovely

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A Cudo voucher for $229 took us on a journey of surprises! I didn't expect much, having visited the trip advisor site and read some of the reviews (buying the deal before my investigations thankfully) stating this was JIM'S TRAINING CENTRE . Man ! what do people want for a couple of hundred bucks I ask you ? On our Friday arrival we drove to reception, to be met by one of the bubbliest ladies I have ever met; a great start to our weekend away. Fabulous staff obviously what JIM DOES, HE DOES IT WELL with staff and training. Look the finger food was just that, NIBBLES not high tea or dinner, just what we expected nibbles, as our group of 6 expected to dine out that evening; but now full of nibbles, so instead we played pool, had a few drinks and relaxed. Then to our unit ---fabulous (remember $229 for 2 nights) Very large, and in in reality the bed was so large I spent 2 days looking for my partner! The en-suit was just as spacious and the toilet paper didn't destroy my good humor, as it did a previous reviewers. ( Perhaps JIM HAS A JIM'S TOILET PAPER DISTRIBUTION Franchise). Well to follow two cooked breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday , all the trimmings, fruit ,juice,cereals( the later not in my vocabulary) coffee etc .All freshly cooked and heaps of it , truly a great start to any-ones day. We could have played tennis on site , or we could have gone for a swim but we did what we enjoy the most, a look around the area ,try some nice food, and have a wine or two and then back for dinner. A large buffet with soup, hot and cold dishes and sweets and coffee to follow. Plain good food, if one went hungry, it certainly wasn't the chef's fault and to top it off we had a guitarist and singer to entertain us. To sum up, if the average Aussi cant get $200 worth of value and fun from this weekend package then there's something wrong with them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

we purchased through deals.com a weekend away at this beautifully landscaped wooded area accessed through a lush tree lined road. inclusive were finger food and wine on the first night, breakfasts for two mornings and dinner one night.

walking into the restaurant, the first thing we noticed was an acrid, bitter smell. unable to cope with it, we ended up eating some burnt finger food outdoors. breakfast the next day was very generous and good, added to that we had a pleasant and personable staff in charged. we mentioned the smell to be passed on to maintenance.

full dinner that evening was again generous and tasty although the dumplings were undercooked and the stuff crab overcooked. two musicians entertained us with soft music throughout dinner. the smell persisted so we left after we finished dinner. again we mentioned this to another staff in charge for the evening, who was just as nice as the person in the morning.

we could not fault our room, which was spacious, extremely clean with huge king size bed, equipped with a toaster, hot water kettle, supply of coffee, tea and generous amount of milk containers in the fridge. a nice touch was the plastic tumbler for water, then plates and cutlery should you wish to have dinner in the room.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms close to jim's testing and tagging centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

value for money, friendly staff, sure very standard motel type rooms - but comfortable. Delicious food! Took our 3 yr old daughter for one night and then had one night by ourselves- wonderful! We live only in Melbourne - 20mins away- but great to be close to Yarra Valley, Healesville Sanctuary - really felt like we were on holiday. I left a raincoat behind in the room - no problem for the staff - they posted it to me! How's that for service?!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was not expecting big things for the price I paid for a weekend stay. However, I was very displeased on arrival to see this is on the site of Jim's Group offices - clearly not the hotel it professes to be, but a conference centre built for Jim and his army of dog washers and mr fix its. Upon going inside I was greeted very warmly by a lovely staffer named Jackie. She was very friendly and my outlook on the place really improved. Until I saw my room. Clean and tidy, the staff have obviously really tried to make the best of a bad situation but this is not exactly hotel standard stuff - you can see dodgy old office buildings from the window. Inclusions were good and the food okay. Tip - don't get sucked into their deals!! But if you need a cheap stay out that way as I said the food is okay and hope you get looked after by Jackie or Debbie - both really lift the impression the place leaves.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Besewasi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well from the minute we arrived and looked around the gorgeous surroundings of the Foothills Conference Centre, I instantly felt relaxed breathing in the fresh mountain air! Mum was very impressed too...Then we were greeted with such happiness & friendliness from Debbie, she was lovely towards us and told us what sights are worth seeing and of course we had many laughs with Debbie over the next couple of days! The entrance has a lovely homely feel with comfortable couches, help yourself to tea/coffee and 3 big bowls of fruit with apples, bananas and pears which you can grab anytime of the day! I've never seen that at places I've stayed at before!

I was so happy I bought this voucher from Our Deals for a 2 night getaway,($229) because it has created such a great fun memory and we were blown away by everything this voucher included, from the finger food and wine on arrival, to the yummy buffet breakfasts each morning and then on the Saturday night we had a 3 course buffet meal and a guy playing on guitar...The food was fantastic, we enjoyed every mouthful and even went back for seconds! My favourite food was the salmon , noodle stir fry, antipasto platter and beef vindaloo with rice & lasagne. Mum enjoyed everything but she always has a sweet tooth so all the petite desserts, mini meringue pie, cheesecakes, apple pies, choc mud cakes, berry cakes, choc mousse cups, fruit platter, cheese platter, nuts...it was endless food and all to die for!

Our room was very clean when we entered and we instantly felt cosy and had a lovely bush view from our window, the bathroom was a great size and modern looking! We were happy with our accommodation and both slept wonderfully!

I believe if you have a problem with anything you should address the problem while staying there, and it gives the staff a chance to sort it out! I don't agree with people writing bad reviews after they leave and not say anything at the time!

So all in all the price we paid would just cover the cost of accommodation anywhere else, but we got so much more and couldn't be happier with our stay in every way!

Thanks to Debbie, Sharon and all the lovely staff who made our 2 days such a joyous getaway! And yes we'll be back....Sharyn & Jeanette

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 37, which was at end so no-one walked past our room, which made it quiet for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooroolbark
1.0 mi away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
126 reviews
5.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
561 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
338 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
139 reviews
2.9 mi away
A Twist of Willow
A Twist of Willow
#1 of 2 in Mount Evelyn
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foothills Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Conference Centre

Address: 48 Edinburgh Rd, Mooroolbark, Victoria 3140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Mooroolbark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mooroolbark
Price Range: $99 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foothills Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foothills Conference Centre is a four star conference centre located in Mooroolbark, 31km east of Melbourne. The centre boasts 96 luxury rooms and is ideally located close to notable Yarra Valley Wineries and all of the area's major tourist attractions. Set on 20 acres of beautiful bushland, the conference centre provides the ideal setting to relax and enjoy a break from the hustle and bustle of City life. Foothills Conference centre provides guests with a high level of personal service, and in addition offers an extensive range of comprehensive business facilities at a competitive price. There are many accommodation options available to choose from in the Yarra Valley but only Foothills Conference Centre can offer the ideal level of luxury at a value for money price. Foothills Conference Centre offers four star accommodation guest rooms in the Grevillea section. These rooms are available in twin share and king size configurations and feature: • Reverse Cycle Air Conditioning • En suite • TV with Foxtel (cable TV) • Fridge & Coffee /Tea Facilities, plates, bowls, cups, wine glasses and cutlery • Phone and Internet Access (Plug in internet only. WIFI is not currently available) • A detailed guest compendium which provides all the information about dining and entertainment in the Yarra Valley area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Foothills Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing