We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Love this place! Always very relaxing and wonderful service. Even in the rain and fog you still have a marvelous view of the lake from a lakeside room. Ask about an in-room massage for an even more relaxing and enjoyable stay !

Room Tip: A suite is the way to go, very roomy and all the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank onestoneybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for the compliments! So glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    105
    43
    18
    15
See reviews for
103
237
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a wonderful property! We had a first floor room overlooking the lake and it was beautiful. The weather was a bit chilly, but we weren't there for water sports, so it didn't matter. We had a family event that rented the Boathouse Villa and that was amazing! If we have another event, we will seriously consider this facility. A wonderful setting for a shower, rehearsal dinner, or family reunion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! So happy you enjoyed your stay and the property. We had a lot of fun at the BoatHouse event too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Beautiful area and property, clean room, service with a smile. Would love to experience the Inn during the summer. Saturday night stay in regular room was $89 with 10% discount from Facebook. If you are a light sleeper, it might not be for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on Bay Pointe Inn. So pleased you enjoyed the property and grounds. Looking forward to seeing you in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were on a one night get away, and had a great night. Our suite overlooking Gun Lake was beautiful, the look through fireplace and hot tub was very nice and cozy. Being it was in the off-season and on a Sunday, we missed the Terrace Grille being open, so we had to go off property for dinner. But the up side to that was, it was a very quiet and peaceful stay, which made it even more pleasant. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thomas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
You're welcome! Thank you for the nice comments. Very happy you enjoyed your one night get away! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night for a little get away and were kept up ALL NIGHT by our neighbors and I mean all night. from some weird vibrating noises (I think it was a Jacuzzi on all night) very loud and very annoying, to the constant slamming of drawers and other noises.
we actually had less than two hours sleep and wanted to spend the rest of the day there but were so tired and disappointed that we left. When checking out the front desks only comment
wow that usually only happens with corporate guests, not an I'm sorry or anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chi_town312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the comments, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We do sincerely apologize for the noisy stay and hope that you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel and were pleased with the accommodations. The front desk staff was customer friendly and talkative. We attended a gathering in the Villa which was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider another visit.

Room Tip: Call early to get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed one night at the Point Pointe Inn. It cost $142 with the 10% discount for using Facebook. This is an off-season price. The Hotel was excellent when we walked in. Fresh baked cookies, apples, coffee, hot chocolate. I was thinking WOW this is going to be great! The hotel hallways smelled great so I was getting excited. Our room was Nice, but nothing we haven't seen before. Balcony overlooking Gun Lake was nice. The grounds were well kept and decorated for fall. But then when you get a closer look is where it became average. The carpet had black stains on it (in the room) and we found washed, but very visible blood on our comforter. There were stains on the curtain sheers leading to the balcony as well. The TV was old school, a little small, but good picture. I did like how the shampoo and conditioner was in a self-dispensing wall mounted container. However, the conditioner smelled like it wasn't used very often and it can get funky. I will say the bathroom was EXCEPTIONALLY clean. Very impressed.

The pool area was also very clean and many towels available, the hot tub acceptable as well. There is a little workout area and it was nicely cool.

Now, the downsides. We went for dinner at the Terrance Grill attached to the hotel. We ordered Ribeye steak and the Apple/Bacon scallops. The atmosphere was wonderful! Again, my hopes were up. Unfortunately, the prime rib tasted like it was from Meijers and the scallops has not a hint of apple or bacon. I was so disappointed considering it was a $44 dollar meal! The best part of the meal was the grilled pineapple salsa and homemade chips for the appetizer. If we quit there it would have been great!

We did speak to the floor manager and she did offer to comp out entire meal, but we were not there to complain or be difficult or try and get a “free” meal, so we declined her offer. She instead gave us 10% off and 2 desserts and 2 cocktails to take back to our room. (Bonus: you can take a drink anywhere on the property) That was very good and she was excellent at listening to our concerns and trying to make it “right”. I would try the restaurant again considering we heard it was only their 2nd week on a totally new menu. Not sure about the Ribeye, that is a staple, so it may have been a bad cut. ( a $24 steak it should be REALLY good!)

The beds were comfortable and it was not noisy at any point. Breakfast came back at the Grille, at what was set up as a buffet. When we arrived it looked as it all there was to eat was bagels, cereal, pancakes (premade) and some muffins, just the run of the mill continential buffet. I again was disappointed, but that seemed to be a running theme.

We were confused and had to ask other people where they got their drinks. There was no way to know a waitress would come and take your egg order and get your drinks. Some type of signage is in order. (Please) By the time someone came over we had already started eating thinking this is all there was. We ordered a farmer’s omelet and it was FANTASTIC! Best omelet I have ever had. Light fluffy, super fresh. Excellent job!

It just felt like the little things kept the really great things from making their mark. I don’t know if I would stay again for that price. Dinner/hotel for $199 in one night. Not much to do in the area, so we basically ate at the Grille, swam for an hour and slept. I would not recommend it for kids on the off season. It is very adult oriented. There was an outdoor fire pit, unlit. It would have been really cool to have a smore’s area with hot totti’s or something to get people to mingle since there isn’t much to do in the secluded area once it was dark.

Room Tip: Do not pick the bottom level lake side. Six of the walk-outs have no view except the top of the hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
90 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 2 in Hastings
62 reviews
17.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
18.5 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#14 of 48 in Grand Rapids
144 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant

Property: Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Address: 11456 Marsh Rd, Shelbyville, MI 49344-9627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality. Abundant Relaxation.Discover family owned Bay Pointe Inn on beautiful Gun Lake. An overnight stay in one of our tranquil rooms includes a deluxe breakfast and gorgeous lake views. Find sanctuary at our BoatHouse Villa, our historic dream escape. Our acclaimed Terrace Grille restaurant provides casual dining with fare that is handmade, from scratch - pure and truly delicious. Centrally located, Bay Pointe Inn is 30 minutes from Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo and halfway between Chicago and Detroit. It is the perfect location for hosting your Weekend Escape, Corporate Retreat or Social Event. We invite you to experience “One of Michigan’s Top Resorts”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Pointe Inn And Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant Hotel Shelbyville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing