We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, terrible restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, terrible restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have not stayed at the Inn but have eaten at the Terrace Grill several times because of the convenience of taking our boat over and docking at the restaurant. It is beautiful setting on the terrace overlooking the lake. The staff is friendly and the service is good however the food is average at best. The salads are good and they do have a few good small plates and a few good entrees but it is hit and miss. The prime rib is probably the worst prime rib I have ever had in a restaurant and it almost bent the knife trying to cut it. When he complained to the waitress she said another customer had complained of the same thing. It was not edible however we were asked if we wanted to take it with us! Are you kidding! We have also had the chicken wellington and it is very dry and tasteless. The prices for drinks is also confusing and it seems to depend on who your server is. For example, one time my husband ordered a Manhattan on the rocks and was charged $ 4.00. The next time he was charged $4.00 for the Manhattan plus an additional $ 2.00 per drink for the ice. The next time the waiter said they never charged for ice and the Manhattans were $ 4.00. The time after that the waitress said there was a charge of $ 2.00 for the ice so he ordered the Manhattan without ice because $ 2.00 for ice in a drink is ridiculous, and he was charged $ 5.25 for the Manhattan. This seems crazy. You would think the pricing would be the same regardless of who was waiting on you. In the future we will stick to salads and appetizers and forego the entrees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    102
    41
    18
    14
See reviews for
98
229
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for our wedding anniversary, but we were overrun by that night's wedding party, not that it mattered to the management. Kids running all over for 3 hours, yelling across the whole grounds, no parents, no intervention by staff. I expected the wedding to have primary use of the lakefront, but not free rein to run amok everywhere. Went to dinner at the Terrace Grille, and the wedding party kids ran through the patio area! Again, no parents or staff response. Wedding guests knocked on our patio doors at night (faced the lake & wedding venue) looking for other guests, and did so again in the morning, putting their faces on the glass, peeking through our curtains of the sliding glass doors! Oh and, we were asked to go out front if we wanted to smoke, so that we didn't "disturb the wedding party". Ridiculous, and the worst wedding anniversary stay we've ever had. Sent an email outlining our concerns, with no response by Bay Pointe, so I feel it's quite in order to give a negative review. You should be prepared to be totally overrun by the weddings held every weekend. Could only recommend week day lodging. It is a nice place, nice view of the lake, but they have sold their soul to the wedding business and you are a low end discard if not a wedding guest. I was told reservations were down at the Terrace Grille restaurant. I can see why.

Room Tip: Don't book on a weekend in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Justsayin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Never again will we visit this "resort". Front desk staff was unfriendly, wedding party was horribly obnoxious (banging on our door and yelling up and down the halls all night), and a low class hotel that had smelly rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tabatha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a lovely place, somewhat in the middle of nowhere. Luckily the restaurant is top notch as there is not much else around in the way of restaurants, although there is a decent restaurant about 10 miles away at the Gun Lake Casino. The rooms of the inn are very nice, at least ours was, with a lake view, a fireplace (not needed when it was 90 degrees), a very comfortable bed and huge bathroom. The staff was very helpful, especially as I could not understand the lightening system in the rooms. We were there when there were no weddings going on so the place was very quiet and peaceful. MIght not be the same if there are big weddings going on outside your windows. Only two complaints 1) there were only 5 hangers in the closet and none were hangers on which you could clip a skirt and 2) the balcony had not been cleaned and had many cobwebs and alot of wasps buzzing around. But all in all we loved the place and will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I were married at Bay Pointe Inn last month. The Bay Pointe Inn staff did an amazing job. They went above and beyond helping with decor, working with outside vendors and coordinating our timeline so everything went very smoothly. We had several family, friends and vendors comment to us about how courteous the staff was and what a beautiful venue Bay Pointe is. I couldn't imagine a better place to get married!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Bay Point Inn
In June 2012, our daughter was married at Bay Pointe Inn at their beautiful lakeside arbor. The entire event was a wonderful experience. We cannot praise the staff or the facility enough. The staff and the facility was top notch all the way from the planning process and rehearsal dinner though the wedding, reception and cleanup. They went out of their way to make sure that our every need was addressed and taken care of. Everyone was courteous, happy, attentive and determined to make this experience as stress free and problem free as possible. They think of everything including golf carts to get disabled guest to and from the ceremony, reception and the hotel. The food was excellent and delicious. Slight rain during the reception did nothing to dampen the occasion. The family of swans that swam along the lakeshore behind the arbor during the ceremony made it that much more picturesque. Marissa takes no credit for that but we are not so sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBROUDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My friends and I visited your restaurant and entertainment pavilion last evening, 6/27/2012. I just wanted to take this opportunity to tell you that you have a wonderful staff. Everyone was so helpful, polite and engaging. Thank you for stressing that to your staff, it was truly inviting.

We drove from Battle Creek to try a new place. The weather was perfect, the menu was fun, the entertainment (The Squid Band?) was a pleasure to listen to.

Wonderful evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
20.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
17.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 2 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#5 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant

Property: Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Address: 11456 Marsh Rd, Shelbyville, MI 49344-9627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality. Abundant Relaxation.Discover family owned Bay Pointe Inn on beautiful Gun Lake. An overnight stay in one of our tranquil rooms includes a deluxe breakfast and gorgeous lake views. Find sanctuary at our BoatHouse Villa, our historic dream escape. Our acclaimed Terrace Grille restaurant provides casual dining with fare that is handmade, from scratch - pure and truly delicious. Centrally located, Bay Pointe Inn is 30 minutes from Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo and halfway between Chicago and Detroit. It is the perfect location for hosting your Weekend Escape, Corporate Retreat or Social Event. We invite you to experience “One of Michigan’s Top Resorts”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant Hotel Shelbyville
Bay Pointe Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing