We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look elsewhere.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azteca's

Azteca's
Ranked #24 of 147 Restaurants in Shelby Township
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food in here is good, but, the service is terrible. My wife and I went here on a slow night--there were only two other couples eating here--and it still took almost 2 1/2 hours from the time we ordered and the time we paid out bill. In addition, the fajitas are served with only 2 tortillas ( you need 5 for the amount of food they give you) and when we asked for a few more, they charged 50 cents each---and it took 20 minutes to get them, from a kitchen that was only 10 feet away. When we were done, I stood at the register waiting to pay my bill for almost 15 minutes---and by the time we got out of there, my clothes had gone out of style.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gorath6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We just love this place! Blows other mexican joints out of the water!

The food is always hot, delicious and plenty!

They have just expanded the menu to include new dinners, and PUFFY TACOS!! You've got to try them!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanillaCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Simple Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visit about once per month.....a simple, inespensive, and good tasting meal!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“By far the best Mexican in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We are so happy we found this place. Initially they were in a different location a few doors down, but they had to close after a fire. They have rebuilt on the corner in a nice, brighter, bigger location and I think it is much better. The food is outstanding; the service good and they are always nice and friendly. We used to live in TX and got spoiled down there with good Mexican food. This place is the best we have found anywhere around here. The gaucamole is good and so are their salsas. We tend to go for the hot, but the mild is rich and chunky with cilantro how we like it and the verde is also good. They recently started serving beer and have really good Sangria too with lots of fresh fruit. They hope to serve mixed drinks soon. Our meals are always great here. Not too greasy and heavy like some Mexican places. The Shrimp Burrito is really good. So are the pulled pork tacos and the Chicken Quesadillas. Our kids love the nachos and the Botana platter is tasty too. Be sure to save room for dessert. The Tres Leches (Milk Cake) is melt in your mouth good. One time we happened to be there when he had just made Churros. Oh my!... still dreaming of those - they were the best. The wait staff is great - even when we've had two families in a party & brought lots of kids. Always fast, efficient and kind. The chef is very talented and you can tell he has a real passion for what he does and making sure he does it well. I love how he comes out of the kitchen to make sure his guests are enjoying their meals. His whole face lights up if you are and I think that speaks volumes for someone who cares and aims to please. It really is a gem of a place and we're thrilled to have found it. ENJOY!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bayfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills
1 review
“We love Authentic Gourmet Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This has been our mainstay-family-going-out-to-eat-place for the last 8 years. Our two kids love it as well. The food is wonderfully flavored and the Watermelon Juice and Tamarindo Juice is soooo good. My husband likes the fajitas and dos equis beer. If you want to feel like you are on vacation take a quick trip to Aztec's. Remember to try the Sopapillas and the fried bananas. MMMMM good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tito5RochesterHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca's also viewed

 
Shelby Township, MI
Shelby Township, MI
 
Shelby Township, MI
 

Been to Azteca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing