We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican”
Review of Taco Loco

Taco Loco
Ranked #17 of 156 Restaurants in Shelby Township
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

They have a great buffet everyday and an even better one on Sundays. Their tostada chips are wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food Everytime!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Taco Loco is a hometown favorite for Shelby Township.

I visited this week with my husband and again we ran in to friends. I decided to write a positive review for them after our friend said to me "This plays never fails!"

He's right. Good food every time. $3.00 margaritas and friendly service. (:

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GigiRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A happy birthday meal”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I used a free birthday coupon last weekend and my wife and I had two good meals. i had the fijita burro and she had a big chicken chimichanga. My burrito was cut in half, so I took half home for the next day. It was full of steak, onions, lettuce and tomatoes.I give it a10 for both days. my wife said her chimichanga was spoiled by the sauce on top. The sauce took away the crispness of the fried flour. She still rated it a 7. The chips were ok, but not as tasty as the Mexican places in down town Detroit. The service was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, TN
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

One of the best Mexican restaurants I've been to outside of Chicago.

I fancy myself a tacos de carne asada aficionado, and I was rather impressed with this joint. A bit on the expensive side, but amazing food. Not quiiiiiite a true taqueria flavor, but very close!

I had an older Mexican lady as a server and she was fantastic!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank upthecreeksevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We go here every once in a while as a treat. For Mother's Day this was my choice. They had a mariachi band playing which my kids loved. And a real treat was a free fried ice cream for moms. I really had no room left but we all shared it. My husband is now hooked on that fried cinnamon sugar shell with ice cream. We get the queso flameado every visit and I'm addicted to the burro de fajita. We love it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cre8tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Loco also viewed

 
Shelby Township, MI
Shelby Township, MI
 
Shelby Township, MI
Shelby Township, MI
 

Been to Taco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing