We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, but a little out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff, but a little out of the way”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The staff was very friendly and the hotel very clean and well maintained. Fitness center is adequate and better than most Hampton Inns. I'm a business traveler and once the day is done I don't want to venture too far to find dinner, selections within walking distance are few and by car you have to travel greater than a mile.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drunyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your most recent stay with us! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know the next time you are with us and we give you some great dining options that are very close to us and also some delivery options. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    66
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
164
63
19
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

These hotel was beautiful, very clean and it's a great place to stay if you are looking to save money on rates, parking, breakfast, etc. Room was standard -- very clean and no problems. I was also very impressed breakfast at the hotel, breakfast was good and had variety for kids. The staff was efficient and polite. For sure I will come again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jing L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your outstanding review! We take pride in making sure every guest's stay is as wonderful as yours was. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinley park, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2014

They had confused reservations for 4 of our families when we checked in and had to move all of us around to different rooms, but they did it quickly and without trouble. The hotel very clean, accommodating with many places to eat and shop nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! I do apologize that there was a mix up at check in but I am glad to hear that we worked everything out for you. We do hope you choose to stay with us again when you are in the Shelby Township/Utica area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I am a Certified Meeting Professional in another area of the country who scheduled a staff briefing at this property in August 2014. The sales staff was among the most responsive I've ever dealt with and assisted me immediately and with thorough follow-up. My group was larger than expected and Corporate Sales Manager Meghan Puzio had the foresight to move them in to a larger room, which could better accommodate their needs. The hotel recommended a caterer and sent over menus promptly. The entire meeting was scheduled with only a week of lead time, and the staff at the Hampton Inn in Shelby Township was amazing. Our group also utilized guest rooms, which they evaluated as nice and comfortable. This property is a great place to do business.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiebettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to host your meeting! We are glad that everything worked out perfectly for you. Meghan was pleased to be able to accommodate you by moving to a larger room as well. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Looked for someplace not too far from Great Lakes Crossing that was reasonable. This motel was perfect and the area it is in, is very nice. Used the pool and hot tub - both very nice. Breakfast area is well maintained. Hotel located right off the highway, but just far enough away so that you cannot hear the traffic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! We were glad to be able to take advantage of the pool and hot tub. It is our goal to make sure every guest leaves happy and we were very pleased to make you happy. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville Tn, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Arrived late and had some issue on my side with credit card payment, but desk clerk handled it quickly and we were in our room speedily. Room was clean, quiet, and welcoming. Staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you were able to have an easy check in when you arrived late at night. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very convenient off of the highway, great service, very clean. Good value for family. The complimentary breakfast was a wonderful value for a family of 5. We had more choices to choose from. Everyone was completely full and satisfied. I would extremely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many selections during our hot breakfast. Everyone here thanks you and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby Township
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
215 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Address: 51620 Shelby Pkwy, Shelby Township, MI 48315-1786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing