We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, updated, comfortable on M-53” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, updated, comfortable on M-53”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were traveling as a couple with our teenage son during a snowy weekend - asked for an upgrade for a bit more space and were graciously rewarded. Used the hot tub, pool, fitness center, breakfast - very comfortable and clean surroundings. Nice beds, clean comforters, right next to Wal-Mart!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2200, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

I am so happy that we were able to upgrade you and that you and your family took advantage of all that the Hampton has to offer.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    59
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
144
57
15
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was impressed with the cleanliness overall. I appreciated the lotion in the bathroom and sliding glass door in the shower. The room was very roomy and the Jacuzzi was immaculate. The individual wrapped fruit in the common area was a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank threecampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2200, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi and the fresh fruit in the lobby.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Newer facility with quiet, clean rooms. Easy access to Van Dyke freeway, providing quick access to entire Metro Detroit area. We were visiting a sick relative, and it was easy to stop for flowers, a good meal, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2200, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi John,

All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us while visiting your relative.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Clean, and I mean clean The bedding was so comfortable, and I had a surgical procedure which kept me in the bed all day, so I know. I was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was very filling, as well as a large selection of sumptuous choices. The breakfast room was very clean, and organized. The tables were all made of granite, and very nice. The room was clean, and the bathroom was well stocked in case you had forgotten anything. The check-out was effortless. There were many places to dine near the Hampton, and many activities nearby if you were looking for any activities outside the Hampton to do. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tyden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2200, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Tyden,

All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice place to stay, would not recommend for groups, however. Lots of headaches with the reservation process for groups but as long as your reservation doesn't get screwed up somehow the hotel is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2200, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Joe,

All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us. Feedback is a very valuable source of information for our management team. We take your feedback and use the suggestions to constantly improve our service and product.

I do apologize that the reservation process did not go as smoothly as expected. I do hope that you give our hotel another chance in the future when you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Friendly, professional staff. Clean, newish hotel with amenities within walking distance or short drive. Easy access to M53. Would definitely recommend traveling a few miles north to this location at 23 Mile Rd. over the more congested M59/Hall Rd.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert2200, Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Henry,

All of us at the Hampton Inn of Utica/Shelby Township would like to thank you for giving us the chance to accommodate you during your recent stay with us. Feedback is a very valuable source of information for our management team. We take your feedback and use the suggestions to constantly improve our service and product.

We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in the Utica/Shelby Township area, whether it be for leisure or business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Awesome hotel. The front desk agents are wonderful and very kind. I highly recommend this hotel. And I would definitely stay again. The complementary breakfast had a lot of options to chose from and it was delicious. The staff was able to accommodated any need that I had in a quick manner. They put their guests first.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby Township
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Address: 51620 Shelby Parkway, Shelby Township, MI 48315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing