We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Certificate of Excellence
Penn Yan, NY
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were in the area for a wedding and this was the hotel that was chosen for guests. Our stay couldn't have been better! The staff was beyond friendly and helpful, always greeted you with a smile. The rooms were well appointed, spacious and comfortable. My only suggestion would have been for a "comfy" chair in the room in lieu of the straight back chair. There was an indoor pool and hot tub, workout room as well breakfast every morning. They offered a shuttle to the wedding/reception at a nearby country club which was a great feature. Walmart is within walking distance in case you forget something.
I would highly recommend this hotel when you are visiting the area!!!!!

Room Tip: We were in 426. It was very spacious and I loved the large shower in place of a shower/tub combo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tam753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    65
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
157
62
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
625 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here this week for one night, and the staff was very friendly and helpful, even though the hotel was sold out (I believe for a wedding party). The room was clean and quiet and had all my necessary amenities. Even though the breakfast lobby was overrun by wedding people, the staff kept up with fresh fruit and coffee, etc.

The fitness room is basic, but adequate. The pool seemed to be a popular spot when I arrived around 9:30-10pm!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for more quiet experience. Even though my room faced the highway, there wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very clean, and quiet, and comfortable. Room had small fridge, and microwave. I usually prefer Hampton Inns. This one heads the "top" of my list. Will stay again if in area. Breakfast was super stocked and dining area was tidy and well arranged. Workout room is well equipped, and ice machines and vending available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassytoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a great hotel! From the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness of the entire facility. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone without pause. Very good. We had 2 young children with us and it made it so nice to have a refordgerator in the room to keep snacks and milk in. We even ran out of Milk one night, late, and my wife asked the front desk clerk if there was a nearby gas station to grab some from The front desk clerk said not to worry and went back into the kitchen and brought out some milk for our kids! Fan for life!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Well worth the price. And there is a WalMart next door for all the things you forgot. Breakfast was hot and plentiful.Hotel was clean. Workout equipment was new. Staff was friendly. Carpet was a beautiful shade of yellow and well vacuumed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Decided on staying here though it was further from my final destination. I was pleased overall with the service, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. Rodney did a great job. The night clerk also did his best to ensure I had a breakfast on the go. The location is near plenty of restaurants within 5 mile. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially the king suites.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth MI, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Being in a corporate area, but next to the freeway, this hotel is really quiet. I have never stayed there and been disappointed with the service or the conditions on the facility. This hotel is always clean and in great repair.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Todd U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby Township
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
211 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Address: 51620 Shelby Pkwy, Shelby Township, MI 48315-1786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing