We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michigan trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

rooms were clean, spacious and pretty comfy. Staff were friendly. We we're a wedding party, so if it had a bar it would have got 5 out of 5, but the staff were accommodating and let us carry on the celebrations in the lobby (away from other guests rooms).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenderdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 450 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stay here annually for an event for my husband's employer. To me, little things are important, and the fact that they have upgraded the radios to ones that actually sound decent and pull in a variety of stations definitely added to our enjoyment of the room. There were 4 electrical outlets in the bathroom! I didn't need them this time, but having the extra set is a plus when you are a couple staying for an extended period of time - he can use one set and I can use the other. The in-room microwave came in handy, and the in-room fridge was clean and bigger than the ones I have used in the past - it accommodates 2-liter bottles upright and even had a can dispenser. Room was comfortable, well-lit, and the heating/cooling unit very quickly warmed up our room upon arrival and cooled it down quickly at bedtime. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I picked this hotel because it was close to my where my daughter lives. It's quite a long ways from the airport but it was worth it. It was a very nice room. Clean and roomy. Staff were helpful and nice. Breakfast was okay. I will stay here again when in michigan.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greencovelady2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Worst hotel ever the staff don't even clean the rooms I saw for myself my room had dirty sheet bathroom had little hair on the floor it wasn't dust all the way. An So with that said I will never stay at that hotel. They need new cleaning staff an better front desk empolyees. They move slower than some of the smaller hotels an they also need place where kids an grown ups can sit when outside.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jademel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We-my mother, son, husband and myself-have stayed here several times since it was built. Growing up at 23 and Van Dyke it's very convenient for knowing my way around. The staff is always courteous and friendly. Breakfast is great as one expects from Hampton. Breakfast staff was extremely attentive and made sure spills were cleaned up and food was replenished. We will definitely return on all of our trips back "home" to Michigan.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamacsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! Easy access on/off from M-53! Great, fast check in! Funny guys behind the counter! Very friendly! Warm pool and a hot tub that was actually HOT!!! Breakfast was delicious and well stocked! There is a Walmart next door! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationsrus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice ammenities. Very modern and fresh feeling interior and style. Disappointed with the front desk. We reserved a king room when we made our reservations 2 months before the event and we were assured of a king room. However, we were placed in a queen room that wasn't even ready. We still had to change for the wedding. Went back down stairs and complained that the room wasn't what we paid for nor was ready. They put us in a clean queen room but still disappointed that they couldn't meet our request. Would have liked coupons for another stay or some comps but weren't offered anything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby Township
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#4 of 7 in Utica
223 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 7 in Sterling Heights
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Address: 51620 Shelby Pkwy, Shelby Township, MI 48315-1786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price Range: $114 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing