We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Worst hotel ever the staff don't even clean the rooms I saw for myself my room had dirty sheet bathroom had little hair on the floor it wasn't dust all the way. An So with that said I will never stay at that hotel. They need new cleaning staff an better front desk empolyees. They move slower than some of the smaller hotels an they also need place where kids an grown ups can sit when outside.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jademel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 438 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We-my mother, son, husband and myself-have stayed here several times since it was built. Growing up at 23 and Van Dyke it's very convenient for knowing my way around. The staff is always courteous and friendly. Breakfast is great as one expects from Hampton. Breakfast staff was extremely attentive and made sure spills were cleaned up and food was replenished. We will definitely return on all of our trips back "home" to Michigan.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamacsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! Easy access on/off from M-53! Great, fast check in! Funny guys behind the counter! Very friendly! Warm pool and a hot tub that was actually HOT!!! Breakfast was delicious and well stocked! There is a Walmart next door! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationsrus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice ammenities. Very modern and fresh feeling interior and style. Disappointed with the front desk. We reserved a king room when we made our reservations 2 months before the event and we were assured of a king room. However, we were placed in a queen room that wasn't even ready. We still had to change for the wedding. Went back down stairs and complained that the room wasn't what we paid for nor was ready. They put us in a clean queen room but still disappointed that they couldn't meet our request. Would have liked coupons for another stay or some comps but weren't offered anything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The front desk service here is outstanding. We had wedding guests arriving at all different times with different needs, and Steve at the front desk took care of each individual set of guests patiently and professionally. We had last minute changes that he took care of. He knew the answer to all of our questions. He was able to accommodate wedding party people by finding a way to let them check in as early as possible. It made all the difference. Much appreciation!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birchtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to stay at the Hampton over the Labor Day weekend rather than the hotel that we had used for the past few years for the same time period. It was a great choice. This particular Hampton is about four years old but looks really fresh and new. The king room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. There was quick wired or wireless internet, a coffee maker, microwave and fridge that did not make noise when it cycled on.The only problem that my wife hates is the bath fan and light come on at the same time rather than being on separate switches. The fan did keep the mirror clear but the sound drives her nuts.The breakfast was very good and offered a variety of items that changed every day over the three days we were there. It was well attended and items were kept full. The eating area is a bit odd as each table (except one large round one) has a chair and the other seat is a padded seat along the outside wall, like a banquette. In the center of the room is a long, high table with high chairs on each side. This arrangement would be good in a bar/lounge, not a breakfast room. The check-in and check-out experiences were both fast and efficient. The hotel is in a very quiet area with no traffic noise. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no restaurants within an easy walk.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times, most recently in August 2012. The rooms are nice, lounge is nice. The front desk is mostly nice. One persnickety fellow whose attitude is over the top. The cleaning staff is polite. Rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: I usually request top floor to avoid guests above me who may not remember to be mindful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby Township
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
218 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
11.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Address: 51620 Shelby Pkwy, Shelby Township, MI 48315-1786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing