We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greenbush Brewing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenbush Brewing Co.

Greenbush Brewing Co.
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Sawyer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 269.277.1091
Sawyer, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Greenbush Brewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The variety of craft beers is excellent. New brews are introduced frequently. Food menu has many choices, mostly sandwiches, but more substantial items as well. Always good! Service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    89
    22
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A competitor for best beer in SW Mich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stopped here on my way back to Lansing from Chicago. It was definitely a great stop!

I cant say much for the food. I ordered the pizza and was presented with a hot cheesy greasy mess. The meal my buddy ordered though did appear to be nicely done and he really enjoyed it.

The beer is a whole other story. The beer selection first off is incredible. I would compare it to that of Founders or Bell's. They have a vast variety of styles and options on tap. Including some beers they don't distribute which is always an incentive to stop in. I forget the name of the beer already but it was one of the most unique beers I've had in quite some time. The IPA with some Pear flavoring was truly exceptional and a must try for anyone who remotely likes IPAs.

Location is also great. Right off the highway. Brewery itself is smaller but really nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelasaurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Spot off Exit 12”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I travel from Chicago to Michigan quite often since my fiance's parents live near Dowagiac and have passed Exit 12 many times not knowing this little gem was right along the way. They have a great selection of beer and a nice menu of food. I had the Anger (Black IPA) and the BBQ Sampler Plate. I liked the anger so much that I bought a growler to go. The BBQ Sampler plate was just okay for me, but they were out of the Brisket and I have heard that is one of the most popular items at Greenbush, so I may give it a second try. My fiance had the Mac N Cheese with Pulled Pork and she thought it was very good. Now for the best meal of the night, ordered from my good buddy, the Hot Wings. These were some of the BEST WINGS we have eaten in our lives. Definitely a must if you go to Green Bush. I will tell you that Greenbush will be a common stop for me in my travels to/from Michigan and definitely well recommended to everyone in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illiois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beer Beer Beer Beer Beer Beer Beer Beer (and food)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Me and my wife thought we would try this place en route to the Sawyer Garden Center (next door). I passed by Greenbush Brewing Co several times, not paying much attention to the nondescript storefront. Having read the Trip Advisor reviews, though, I am glad we came here!

First, the beer. Lots of it. Many varieties, flavors, wonderful wonderful beer! I first tried "Postcards from Dongala" - the name itself was intriguing. Then had a pint of Dunegras. Both were absolutely outstanding.

The Joique Wings made a great appetizer (they're not hot wings as I'd prefer, but tasty nonetheless). My wife had the Pulled Pork sandwich, and I opted for the Turkey Bacon Melt (pictured below - absolutely delicious).

The price was quite reasonable - $8 bucks for each sandwich, $4 bucks for each pint of beer.

We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan_the_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, IN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVE! LOVE! LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Beer is absolutely fabuloso. Food is not bad. But our visit is only for Beer. Environment is family friendly which is a huge plus for us.

Helpful?
Thank Kumi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbush Brewing Co. also viewed

Sawyer, Berrien County
Sawyer, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
Union Pier, Berrien County
 
Sawyer, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Greenbush Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing