We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still not sure if it's "Soh" or "So-ee", but the food is great.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soe' Cafe - CLOSED

Soe' Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still not sure if it's "Soh" or "So-ee", but the food is great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Soe Cafe serves up contemporary American cuisine in a great way. The menu isn't extensive, but the food is thoughtfully prepared and presented and there are generally a few specials available from day to day as well. I've enjoyed pretty much everything I've tried there, and I like how they put a little creative flair into their more traditional items such as potato soup (try this) and strip steak. Do yourself a favor and order a cocktail as well, since they're really good too. Service has always been decent, and they'll let you know if a certain item will take longer than usual. It's not the cheapest place, but I feel the prices are within reason for the quality of the food and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koyangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union Pier, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, locally sourced, slow food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Soe cafe prides itself on making creative, from scratch food. Yum!

I seriously love to come for lunch and get their burger and a ridiculous mountain of fries!

My husband and I own a local Bed & Breakfast, and we regularly send our guests to Soe when people are looking for fresh, real food. Most of our guests have come back with great reviews!

My only recommendation is that the chef better educate the servers on the menu and the preparation of their dishes. I get super excited about where my food comes from, and this is their special niche. Servers should be able to answer my myriad of questions!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
220 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with locally provided ingrediants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Soe's is a very nice place that serves up food that is prepared with locally provided ingredients, whenever possible. We like to sit at the bar and share a few appetizers and have a couple of drinks. Start with the local "pickles", which are actually pickled vegetables - think cauliflower, red onion slices, carrots, whole cloves of garlic, etc. These go great with martinis. They also have a good cheese and olive spread, and a romaine salad. Sandwiches include burgers, pork shoulder, ham and cheese. Excellent entrees include fish and chips, meat loaf, duck breast, steaks, chicken and fish. They even have braised pork belly (uncured and unsmoked bacon). Drinks are great and varied; good wine and beer lists.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, MI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped at Soe Cafe on our way back home from. The brunch menu was very interesting. The food was very good, served nice and hot with an excellent presentation. Would stop again when in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We used a coupon from Restaurant.com to try this restaurant. Very nice atmosphere and the staff is very friendly. The burger we had is very tasty and I believe the fries are homemade and cut fresh every day. We tried an appetizer which was the Olive and cheese spread. The bread used for the spread is very well prepared. Seemed to be on ciabatta bread that was toasted and buttered. Very flavorful. One thing you will not find on the table is salt. However, if you ask the waitress, she will gladly bring it to your table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soe' Cafe also viewed

Sawyer, Berrien County
 
Sawyer, Berrien County
Sawyer, Berrien County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing