We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been very good had things gone right.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Could have been very good had things gone right.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel was clean, had a good breakfast, looked nice in the lobby and room....but when we arrived we were placed in a room right over the lobby entrance which was not cool I'm sure they had other rooms available. Also the air conditioner did not work so we were transferred to another room right next to the one we just had (still over lobby entrance no view). This air condition kinda worked but did not get the room cool like we like (64 F). Overall this hotel was very warm (lobby and rooms). They need to turn the heat down.

Room Tip: Get one that has a good working air conditioner. 2nd floor above the lobby entrance does not have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regislive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    98
    31
    13
    11
See reviews for
98
73
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'd say this hotel is actually between "Average" and "Very Good" but that's not an option in the overall rating. The staff was courteous and our room was ready early which was nice after a long drive. My only real complaint was that our room was quite small...it was pretty cramped with all the furniture and we were a family traveling. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was good, although the pancake maker was out of order which was disappointing for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOfFivePeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was out final stop on our trip to the UP. The hotel is just off I 75 and very close to the Lake Superior State campus. There are several gas stations and a McDonalds nearby.

It's a busy hotel but we found the front staff pleasant and courteous. Check out the room guide to restaurants in the area since you can get coupons to several places if you ask at the front desk.

Room was clean and comfortable. Pool looks nice but we didn't have a chance to use it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPBAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I visited this hotel for work in August. The hotel is located just off I75 and next to the college campus. A McDonalds is located just next door as well. The hotel is newer and modern and I found my room to be clean and smelling fresh. They offer a full breakfast, for free, in the morning that inlcuded: eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits, pancakes, juice, coffee, muffins, rolls, fruit and bagels. It was a nice surprise. The pool area is off the lobby which made the floors a little slippery, but that would be my only negative thing to say about this nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The room overlooked the Canadian Bridge and the Soo Locks. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was very hot and had lots of variety from warm pancakes, egg omelets, toast, bagels, cereal, yogurt, biscuits & gravy, coffee, danishes, etc. The front desk clerks were busy but helpful. Again, the view was spectacular. Although its right across from the college, which we liked, it is away from downtown and area shopping. There is a shuttle from the hotel to the local Kewadin Casino, but we did not need it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Canadian side, toward the Soo Locks is a nice view. Easy exit on and off the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked 3 rooms, and after a 5h drive i was at the hotel 1p, @ check-in i was not greeted as a pc member nor was requested to show ID and the weird thing was WITHOUT EVEN CHECKING ON THE COMPUTER, fd said your rooms are not ready even thou I had requested early check in but how would he know if he don’t read comments on the reservations!!!! FD (Mike) was rude, with 0 hospitality experience!!!!! So waited at the lobby for another 1h to get into my room, then we checked in and we paid cash for 2 rooms and cc for the third room but my cc was authorized 2 times and when I went back to the fd for an explanation, they couldn’t do anything about it, didn’t care much. But offered me an extra 15min to swim at the pool after all this!!! The next day I check my account I see a third authorization on my cc!!! So I go to lobby and requested to talk to the manager to see what is she going to do about it, and when I said your hotel authorized my cc 3 times, the Hotel manager was no difference than her staff, she freaked out, she was rude, she had no idea what is going on, offered no help no compensation, AND DID NOT EVEN SAY SORRY, i was really dispointed from all this so i said i will complain to corporate , She simply and in front of other guests said I’m offering you NOTHING!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sam A,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

from the moment we walked into the hotel, we had nothing but nice things to say about this hotel. the rooms were very clean, pool/hot tub very well maintained and clean. The breakfast served was excellent every morning with may options to choose from, we were by the elevator but we never heard any noisy people or slamming of doors. the beds are very comfy. flat screen T.V's in the rooms which is nice. High praises go to the house keeping staff for doing such a great job keeping the rooms clean, and to the front desk and everyone else that keeps the place running. thanks for making our stay comfy

Room Tip: top floor rooms facing the St Mary's river is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
90 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 1171 Riverview Way, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps form Lake Superior State University, minutes from the Soo Locks, and St. Mary s river let Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan fulfill all your lodging needs. You can relax knowing we offer a broad range of services and amenities featuring our Express Start Breakfast Bar. Our large elegant lobby features a library with a relaxing sitting area where you can read in front of our exquisite fireplace. For the recreationally inclined, we offer an on site fitness room with modern equipment, as well as a heated indoor Pool and Spa. We are located within miles of DonDee Bowling Lanes, Agawa Canon Train Tours, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and only 20 minutes from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are delighted to provide you with exceptional service while you savor the historical Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Holiday Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing