We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your bill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked the room on points. Was greeted upon arrival and gave them confirmation from booking with points on line. No problem until checkout time. I was billed full rack rate (could have had lower rate by AAA or ARP if I was paying). Took the bill to the front desk and the clerk told me I was wrong that it was not points. I tried to explain that I have a confirmation and tried to show her where she was wrong. She told me to take it up with Priority Club and the charges would remain on my credit card.
I told her it was unacceptable and for her to call Priority Club or that I needed to talk to the manager. She fumbled around on her computer again and then told me someone made an error and entered a wrong code and it would be ok. I requested a new copy of my bill and she told me to get it on-line. I insisted and she finally gave me a copy. Not the usual great job from Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the front of the hotel. McDonald drive in is next to the front and very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 285 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Check-in was very efficient. We used Priority Club Points so the price was very reasonable. The room was very nice and had a great view. It is good to see that they now have flat screen tv's. The pool area had a very large jacuzzi. There was a very good selection at the free breakfast, however there was no ketchup or hot sauce for the scrambled eggs. This is the first time that I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express that did not have at least one of these items. I complained at the front desk and was told that I was not the only one who had complained about the lack of Ketchup and that management would be informed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I are retired. We always try to stay in HIE first. I felt I should write a review about the HIE at Sault Sainte Marie because of the superiority of this facility. The rooms were quiet, the beds are wonderful (updated--pillow top), the floors and bathrooms were very clean. TV's (flat screen) were new which my husband loved. The rooms were very clean! Congratulations to the cleaning staff and management. The reception at the desk ranks a first class rating of superior. Please know, in this past year my husband and I have visited Maine, California, the Carolinas and Florida. This facility is one of the top HI Expresses we've visited in our travels. Congratulations to the entire staff and management for having one of the best Holiday Inn Expresses in the US in our opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE! Came in had a nice time, 2 hours later, had found bed bugs on both beds! Once I got home the next day, I had to wash literally EVERYTHING I owned. Then the person i had gone on this trip with, had found a bug on a shirt they wore and washed, it was dead, still havent identified what type of bug it is, but i doubt it is a coincidence. DO NOT stay at this hotel, avoid it! when called to let the manager know about this problem, they had told us that they had a bed bug problem once before and did not tell anyone they were back. We had GREAT help from the lady at the front desk. also 2 weeks ago, we had gone there with a baseball team and had breakfast there and one of the players got food poisoning. NEVER AGAIN will i stay here. my mother cannot even sleep because of this issue we had, in fear of having bed bugs. We were told that this is the first time they had a problem with bed bugs, but i highly doubt that our room, (which was rom 211 on the 2nd floor) was the only room with a problem! i suggest to everyone not to stay at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband, teen son and I took a 3 day trip over Memorial day to Sault Ste. Marie. We are loyal Holiday Inn Express guests. This location was no exception to the kind of quality we expect from our stays. Clean modern room, nice staff and gorgeous breakfast. No issues with cleanliness of our room or the property in general. The convience to everything was good for this location. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hall on the top floor- totally quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganFootballMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A little pricey for this market, but this is a very nice hotel. I had a top-floor king room with a fine view of Lake Superior State University and the bridge to Canada for a two-day stay. Room was very clean and equipped with a fridge and microwave. Decently firm mattress. Nice big flat-panel TV, too, with lots of channels (and, refreshingly, no porn for sale). Great hot breakfast with sausage gravy and biscuits, eggs, pancakes, as well as the usual continental. My only quibble: This hotel follows a trend I see in a lot of midrange hotels these days that I don't like -- the pool is completely visible from the lobby and breakfast area, so if you swim, it's like HELLO WORLD! The people hanging out in the lobby or munching on their breakfast can watch you swim. (Well, in my case, that might put you OFF your breakfast.)

Room Tip: The north side of the hotel has a terrific view of the St. Mary's River and Canada on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great location, right next to the school. I have stayed their a few times and both times the sheets have been stained and dirty. On my last stay I arrived and inspected the room only to find three hairs in the shower. The carpet was nice and clean, the staff is always good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awesomereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear awesomereviews,

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as the service you received from our staff. I apologize that you were not fully satisfied with the condition of your room during your most recent stay. We all hope that you give us a chance in the future to provide you with a great hotel experience.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
601 reviews
2 mi away
Delta Hotels Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels Sault Ste. Marie Wa...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 1171 Riverview Way, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $121 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps form Lake Superior State University, minutes from the Soo Locks, and St. Mary s river let Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan fulfill all your lodging needs. You can relax knowing we offer a broad range of services and amenities featuring our Express Start Breakfast Bar. Our large elegant lobby features a library with a relaxing sitting area where you can read in front of our exquisite fireplace. For the recreationally inclined, we offer an on site fitness room with modern equipment, as well as a heated indoor Pool and Spa. We are located within miles of DonDee Bowling Lanes, Agawa Canon Train Tours, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and only 20 minutes from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are delighted to provide you with exceptional service while you savor the historical Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Holiday Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing