We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, could have friendlier staff at the front counter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent the weekend at the hotel with our son's hockey team. The hotel was in good condition and the check in went smooth. We had booked a suites which was plenty big enough for the three of us. The room was actually two adjoining rooms made into a suite.
The breakfast was one of the best we had at this type of hotel. There was a large variety of breakfast items.
The only negative of the weekend was when families were requesting late checkouts. We had our last game scheuduled at 2:45 pm on Sunday and they would not give us a late checkout. She, the overnight/ evening female worker on saturday 10/30, stated that they had already reached there max of 10 late checkouts. She was not friendly at all, actually very rude and rolled her eyes when other families would ask. Why ruin a great experience and a nice hotel with an unfriendly person working the front counter. Find a new overnight / evening worker. The hotel has a security guard in the hotel to keep the noise level down at night.

regardless of the rude counter personal I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great clean rooms ..friendly and helpful front desk staff..bed and pillows very comfortable good choice of tv viewing ..must have been recently renovated..will stay here again when traveling thru the Sault

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grouzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I read the reviews - which seemed to be written before the renovations. We had a very good stay - 2 nights. Clean and quiet room, accomodating staff, comfortable beds and pillows. Standard Holiday Inn breakfast was fairly good. Would we stay again - yes. Only one caveat - if you are looking to travel in the fall/winter.....and want to make sure that the hotel is "quiet" - ask the desk if there are any hockey games the weekend you are traveling. The college hockey teams stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCinIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Nicest hotel we have stayed at in Sault Ste Marie. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Lots of pillows, which I like. Good complimentary breakfast. Even had a refrigerator.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovestulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The suites looking toward the locks offer wonderful views for "freighter junkies" (those of us who think watching large Great Lakes ships makes train watching passé). However, it would nice if the view were not obstructed. The double pane windows had cracks covered with tape, and there was condensation build-up between panels. The separate bathrooms and double jacuzzi were awesome. However, it would be nice if the shower liner and the bottom of the tub in one of the bathrooms were clean. The rooms were roomy and tastefully decorated. However, it would have been nice if the wood surface of the headboard for the king size bed did not have a couple smear marks on it. Great brand. Great rewards program. Great room. Courteous and friendly staff. However, there were a few things that should have been tended to before we could give it five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokiesCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and luckily didn't run into problems as the other reviewers had said. I found my room and bathroom to be clean and as expected. The only thing i didn't like in the room were the pillows. They were just too soft for my liking even the firm. I stayed in a lot of Hampton/Hilton hotels and like those pillows better.
Breakfast was ok and like their Cinnamon rolls.
The hotel is nearby Lake Superior University and within walking distance to McDonald, but that's about it. It's an exit away before International Bridge to Canada site.
This hotel is decent for stay especially for people who visit the university since it's so close by. I probably would stay at this hotel again but hoping for Hampton or any Hilton establishment to be built there.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
Thank Leilani07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

It is very easy to access, just over the bridge passed the Ontario side of Sault-Ste-Marie. We stayed overnight as we were passing through the area. Price was good, it has free parking and we got upgraded to King Suite with huge jacuzzi for two in the bedroom. It was nice and had lots of space. The room had a fridge, microwave and safety deposit box. It also had free in-room wi-fi, although so slow that it was almost impossible to use. The breakfast was pretty good with good selection of fruit and low-fat choices, which is a good thing since not everyone feels like pancake and sausage in the morning. The bed was very comfortable, but again those pillows are too big. This is our second night in a row with this brand Hotel and so far, the pillows are always too big. We might change brand tomorrow night to see what we can get.

I would nonetheless recommend the place, but can't compare to other in the area. There is a McDonald just beside it (200 feet), and it has free wifi, so a good spot if it is important that you access your computer. It has a pool and jacuzzi, although we did not use it, and washer/dryer (but we did not use them on this trip).

Room Tip: Any room woud be good, as it is far from the highway and very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pounette166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
130 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
473 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
581 reviews
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
293 reviews
13.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 1171 Riverview Way, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $120 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps form Lake Superior State University, minutes from the Soo Locks, and St. Mary s river let Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan fulfill all your lodging needs. You can relax knowing we offer a broad range of services and amenities featuring our Express Start Breakfast Bar. Our large elegant lobby features a library with a relaxing sitting area where you can read in front of our exquisite fireplace. For the recreationally inclined, we offer an on site fitness room with modern equipment, as well as a heated indoor Pool and Spa. We are located within miles of DonDee Bowling Lanes, Agawa Canon Train Tours, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and only 20 minutes from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are delighted to provide you with exceptional service while you savor the historical Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Holiday Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing