We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Sault Ste. Marie)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kewadin Casinos Hotel(Sault Ste. Marie)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adoba Lockview Hotel(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
$105
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Host Crestview Inn(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
$79
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Motor Motel(Sault Ste. Marie)(Great Value!)
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
121
106
32
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
106
32
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake superior state universitycinnamon rollsnice hotelfront deskinternational bridgegas stationthe breakfast arearoom was cleansoo locksfirst floorhotel is locatedyogurtgreat place to stayeasy accessshort drivebusiness trippool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 284 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Conveniently located at the last exit on I-75 Northbound before the bridge to The Sault, Ontario or the first exit Southbound after entering Michigan, it's clean and comfortable, and last minute walk in travellers may get offered a very good rate discounted from published / online booking sites. Beds were very comfortable and the quiet location made for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I trravel quite a bit for business and don't like to stay in dated, worn-out hotels. This hotel was recently renovated and is very nice - clean and contemporary looking at reasonable prices. Got upgraded to a 2 room suite and had a very nice sitting room/kitchenette. I haven't stayed anywhere else in the Soo but I'd definitely come back here and I'm picky, picky, picky.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatienceWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

As a frequent business traveler, I am particular about hotel accomodations, especially when traveling with my 3 teenagers. We have stayed at the HE Express in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan several times and have not been disappointed. The rooms have been recently remodeled and are quite comfortable and clean. The breakfast provides a wide variety - from the standard continental breakfast fare to hot breakfast items. The kids gave the pool a thumbs up. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiMomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Let's start with the good, breakfast was FANTASTIC! The room was clean, spacious and quiet. The not so good, the chemicals in the pool room were overwhelming, had to leave after 10 minutes as my eyes were burning, the key cards would not work in the outside doors and had to have the key cards re-coded twice in a single day (big pain in my hind). So I guess the stuff that mattered was a home run, the other stuff, struck out. They did allow pets which worked out well for me.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

i had had good experiences at this hotel for years. But, the last 3 stays have been horrible. First, as a Platinum member they no longer upgrade members. Next the Internet is horrible and the staff have no idea how to assist with problems.

The noise level of the hotel keeps getting worst. The breakfast is the only part of the hotel I enjoy. The rooms were very small the the beds were not comfortable. The staff does not appear to be interested in helping or assisting with any problems.

There is only one washer and one dryer. When a guest puts cloths in they often leave for hours and if you ask the front desk about it they say, "well, he was there first and you need to wait for him to remove." After a load is finished for over an hour, they should remove. And, then the worst thing is that it was a staff member who was using the laundry for his own personal needs.

The Internet was horrible and since my business is on computers, I could not wait to leave this hotel. I have stayed there over 10 times in the past 3 years. I will NEVER stay there again. Enough is enough and this hotel deserves to be vacant!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidTMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews