We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay - avoid restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
ALGONAC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okay stay - avoid restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this through a discount broker - so paid around $105 a night, before taxes. Lodging was clean and somewhat comfortable. Restaurant was poor. Staff was very helpful and it was refreshing to have English speaking attendants! When smoke alarm went off, staff searched building and found nothing, so to cure the smoke detector from going off, it was just ripped down - which was saw the next day. Since we were on the 4th floor, that was a little discomforting. For the amount of money paid, I would stay at the other two hotels we prefer. It is a shame to say that, as I want the hotel to succeed, but they need to pay a little more attention to details and completely rethink who they have in the kitchen of their restaurant and their servers.

Room Tip: As for room with a view of the locks - although much is blocked by the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROT810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
We are very happy your stay in the hotel was good and we are making very progressive changes in the restaurant to avoid the issues that your experienced. We hope the next time you are in Sault Ste Marie you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    205
    192
    126
    65
See reviews for
206
249
29
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Been at this hotel several times in the past, but don't know what is happening in their restaurant, our dinner was served by a nice waiter, names Jason or Justin, but our food was horrible, that he took it back to kitchen and brought back a seconded time seemed even worst. Our waiter did his best to help us with other items , . Service was very slow and wait staff were trying there best but seem problem is with their kitchen, food arrives cold after long wait, breakfast was a simple meal of eggs bacon and toast but served cold, sister in law order coffee that was so cold, not cool but COLD. Never had this problem in restaurant before so don't know what was going on. Check in was good, great staff at the desk, but disappointing in our room location, we booked this room 6 months in advanced and was given a room overlooking the restaurant roof. So much for booking early for a good room. I had highly recommended this hotel to a family member so they did book also they were not happy. I told them I had never had this type of service in the restaurant before. Hoping this will get cleared up because as we were sitting in restaurant heard so many others complaining also. This is such a classy hotel and now on our Wyndham list hope improvements will be made soon.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room to look toward the locks. or street view if you rather, there is only 6 fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishshalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are always trying to improve every experience with every guest and the restaurant is one area that we are very focused on.
We are making many changes in the restaurant and I am confident that on your next stay with us you will see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au Train, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We took a chance and stayed here after reading some not very flattering reviews. If you want sleek and new and trendy this is NOT the place for you... The Ramada, Ojibway, in Sault Ste Marie is a historic property that sits right across the street from the Soo Locks. When you come to this hotel, it is a special treat! Heavy draperies, thick carpeting, wallpaper, older furniture, and history are it's specialties. Check in and Check out were seamless, and efficient. Do not be in a hurry for your complimentary breakfast. You will want to enjoy the made to order fare in the beautiful dining room - complete with wait staff and white table clothes watching for freighters to appear outside of the glass wall in front of you. Room furnishings were not new, but the room was immaculate! It was well appointed with a full sized closet, iron, ironing board and hair dryer. TV was a flat screen, bed was comfy... We cannot say anything about the pool, as we did not use this part of the hotel. Loved our stay here - steps from the beautiful gardens at the Soo Locks. Will certainly visit this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the locks... we were on the side of the building that looked away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori G, Front Desk Lead at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take pride in our historic hotel and love it when people appreciate the "step back in time".
We look forward to your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
110 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#14 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Property: Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Address: 240 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historical Hotel site on a site overlooking the Famous Internation Soo Locks. We are the Home of the Famous Freighters Restaurant and the Captains Pub and Grill. We will celebrate our 75th Anniversary on New Years Eve. Since 1927 this hotel has hosted Presidents and diplomats from all over the world. The senior president Bush hosted us with his presence in 1982. This property exhuberates with nostalgia from eras gone by. Take a trip through time as you enjoy our history and artifact display. Our staff is one of few who pay attention to the details of your comfort. Enjoy the luxurious lobby and historic lighting. Shop at all the gift shops. Whether you are snowmobiling or checking in to read your favorite book call and book with our staff. You deserve to savor the moment in one of our hot tub suites. Call now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Ojibway Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Hotel Plaza Ojibway
Sault Sainte Marie Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing